The Reasons Why I Quit Pharmacy School

Two years ago I was on my way to a PharmD.

Cait
4 min readJan 15, 2019
Photo by Eliott Reyna on Unsplash

I currently attend North Dakota State University. I’ve changed my major 3 times and I’ve never really known what I wanted to do with my life.

Freshman year, it didn’t take long for me to panic-choose my major. The idea of being stuck in the wrong career path was terrifying.

That is when the appeal to pharmacy school came. NDSU has a professional program and you don’t need a Bachelors degree to get in. In fact, if you fast-tracked it, you could be out of school with your Doctorate of Pharmacy in 6 years, and starting pay is six figures. Job placement seemed strong. I signed myself up.

I hated it.

The first two years of undergrad served as the foundation for pharmacy school. Math, biology, chemistry, biochemistry, physics… all the requirements to apply to the program.

My sophomore year, I took the PCAT. It’s the entrance exam required by most schools. I scored surprisingly well and moved forward with my application.

The pharmacy program interview process was 4 hours long. There were group interviews, individual interviews, and an exam. I remember coming home overwhelmed and exhausted. It felt like overkill.

--

--