Top 4 Reasons Why Apple Charging Cables Turn Yellow and Burst + My Experience

Ckinet Andrii
3 min readSep 30, 2023
USB-C charger cable

Apple charging cables, like all products from this company, are known for their quality and relative durability. However, like any other product, they become outdated and wear out. In this article, I want to share my experience with Apple charging cables and, of course, talk about the most common reasons for cable deterioration. If you are reading this, chances are you have encountered this problem too.

My interaction with Apple products began in November 2013 when I bought the iPhone 5s. It was a very good user experience! The iPhone felt much better than Nokia or Samsung. Without delving too much into my history as an Apple user, I’ll say that I had many gadgets from this company but also occasionally used products from other brands. I first encountered the cable wear issue with my MacBook Pro after 3 years of use; the cable looked terrible. The MagSafe port itself was not safe; sometimes sparks could be seen upon contact. I bought a new charger, but after a while, I decided to sell my old MacBook. Interestingly, the person who bought it was a small store selling used electronics. I personally delivered the laptop to this store and I saw about 15–20 used MacBooks, and almost all of them had charging cables in poor condition. At that time, I thought the main problem was the MagSafe connector. But now my opinion has changed because currently, I use the MacBook Air M1 which uses a USB-C cable. Perhaps I like USB-C more than MagSafe, although they serve different purposes. But no matter how much I like USB-C, it also has the same problem as MagSafe — the cable turns yellow and deteriorates!

Let me tell you about the most common reasons for the cable turning yellow.

Reason 1: The main reason is the cable overheating during battery charging. The heat generated by charging devices can lead to the destruction of the cable’s insulation, which can cause it to turn yellow. To minimize the risk of overheating, do not use your gadget while it is charging! This will help prevent the cable from overheating.

Reason 2: The second reason is the stress from bending and twisting the cable. To keep the cable in normal condition, be careful, do not bend, and do not subject the cable to stress. If you need to wrap the cable, do it loosely; do not wind the cable into a tight coil. Also, the cable does not like tight winding.

Reason 3: Cable contamination. Strangely enough, I noticed that the cable gets dirty quite quickly. Therefore, you need to clean the cable regularly. I use a damp cloth for cleaning. Avoid using aggressive chemicals or abrasive materials!

Reason 4: Exposure to sunlight. Prolonged exposure to sunlight can also cause the cable to turn yellow. Therefore, it’s better not to expose the cable to sunlight; otherwise, over time, it will turn yellow and crack.

If your cable has turned yellow, be careful, check the cable for cracks. If you find cracks, the cable must be replaced immediately! When the cable insulation deteriorates, it can lead to exposed internal wiring. This is dangerous and can cause a short circuit and fire! Do not risk your safety and your device; take the damaged cable seriously!

--

--

Ckinet Andrii

Debunker ❌ | iOS developer 👨🏻‍💻| Apple fun 🍏 | Learn Flutter🐥