Claire Alleaume
3 min readNov 25, 2019

--

A critique of The Critic, the UK’s new political and cultural magazine

The world doesn’t need more print magazines, yet I can’t help but feel excited when a new title pops up on the newstands. With the internet awash with content of all shapes and sizes – and inevitably, quality – I still sense this naïve urge to read writing that has been deemed ‘good enough for print’, turning an intentional blind eye to the local typo-fuelled paper shoved through my letterbox every week. So when I spotted the first issue of The Critic, a new magazine of “ideas for open-minded readers" citing politics, reportage, art and books on its cover, I readily parted with £5.95 in anticipation.

I’ve been known to Google titles before to check I’m not unwittingly buying an overtly-stanced publication, but the appeal for open-mindendness and a cover story urging to stop sentimentalising Rememberance felt like a comfortable bet.

I wholeheartedly disagree with the first piece, by David Starkey, who looks to the origins of the Separation of Powers to dismiss it as a damaging doctrine. Possibly not helped by the early line "like most bad ideas, it comes from France", I couldn't help but roll my eyes at his well-informed but misplaced criticism of balance in power. Starkey lays the blame for recent political disasters brought on by a dysfunctional parliament on the separation of the legislative, executive and judicial, seemingly completely…

--

--

Claire Alleaume

I write about tech (esp. insurtech & autotech), business (esp. strategy & marketing), mobility (esp. new & shared), society and skateboarding.