How I Knew It Was Time to Quit My Job for a Career Break (and How It Is Going One Year In)

Claire Gong
10 min readJul 19, 2023
A picture of girl standing in front of a lake and mountains

In mid-2022, I quit my job as a product manager to travel, volunteer, spend time with family abroad, learn new skills, and in general seek inspiration.

I had been sitting on the idea of a career break for a long time, but for various logistical reasons this option only became viable in recent years. I gave myself a timeframe to save up aggressively and handed in the notice when I decided the time was right.

The break itself was and is still, I believe, one of the best investments I’ve made in myself.

There were several personal reasons I took the leap when I did. If you’ve also been contemplating taking an extended career break, my experience might resonate.

Reason 1: To heal my unhealthy relationship with productivity

The pandemic fuelled a profound sense of restlessness in me.

It was becoming increasingly difficult to separate work from life, especially with the blurred lines between home and office space in remote work. With a rapid turnover in the team and changing priorities, the purpose that initially inspired me became buried over time as my internal balance shifted. I felt disconnected from the impact of my work. That…

--

--