My Mom Was Jealous of My Dad at His Funeral

Some make it about them

McKenna Meyers
Crow’s Feet
Published in
6 min readApr 9, 2024

--

Characters on TV shows and in movies are sad at funerals. In the real world, though, these occasions can stir up all kinds of emotions. I learned this when my mom was jealous at my dad’s service. (Shutterstock)

We’ve all seen a sufficient number of funerals depicted on TV shows and movies to know precisely how a dead person’s loved ones are supposed to look and behave. They should be soberly dressed in black from head to toe, walk heavily with their red, puffy eyes cast downward, and wail mournfully every now and again to add some drama to the proceedings.

--

--

McKenna Meyers
Crow’s Feet

I’m a teacher with a master’s degree in special education who writes about growing older, wiser, and stronger, politics, current events, and parenting.