Extremely Good (and Bad) Movies of 2017

Clare Mulligan
3 min readJan 8, 2018

--

I don’t have a film degree, but I do have a MoviePass, a lot of free time, and an almost crippling need for escapism. This meant that I ended up watching a total of 53 new movies that came out in the year of our Lorde 2017 (plus a few older ones, too). Trust me, I watched everything. I saw the Tom Cruise reboot of The Mummy. I saw Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets! I SAW A BAD MOMS CHRISTMAS!!! In other words, if a movie came out in 2017, I probably saw it and had a very correct opinion on it. Here are those opinions.

Best Movies (in No Particular Order)

The Big Sick

Colossal

Their Finest

Get Out

Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle

The first two-thirds of Wonder Woman

I, Tonya

Spider-Man: Homecoming

Atomic Blonde

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Character I’d Most Want to Murder Me, But Like in a Hot Way

Tie: Delphine (Sofia Boutella), Atomic Blonde and Ahmanet (Sofia Boutella), The Mummy

Best AILF

Aunt May, Spider-Man: Homecoming

Best Use of Katherine Heigl Vaping

Unforgettable

Best Batman Movie of 2017 and Also of All Time

The Lego Batman Movie

Character Who Most Benefited from Listening to “New Rules” by Dua Lipa

Rey, Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Movie That Unfortunately Made Me Thirsty for Tom Hiddleston

Kong: Skull Island

Movie That Thankfully Cured Me of My Tom Hiddleston Thirst

Thor: Ragnarok

Best Actor

James Franco, The Disaster Artist

Best Supporting Actor

Krispy Kreme, Power Rangers

Best Actress

Margot Robbie, I, Tonya

Best Supporting Actress

Tiffany Haddish, Girls Trip

Actor We Should Really Stop Encouraging at This Point

Cara Delevingne

Best Use of Jude Law Cutting Off Someone’s Ear and Yelling Into It / Worst Use of an Asian Character Named “Kung Fu George” / Worst Use of David Beckham / Highest Ratio of Women Murdered to Women with Speaking Roles

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

Best Pronunciation of ‘Steve’

Stiv!” (Wonder Woman)

Best Movie about the Battle of Dunkirk

Their Finest

Worst Matt Damon Movie

Tie: Downsizing, The Great Wall, Suburbicon

Best Matt Damon Movie

:/

Funniest Movie that Wasn’t a Comedy

The Beguiled

Literally All the Documentaries that I Watched in 2017, I’m Doing My Best Okay

Kedi and Score

Worst Movie that Still Made Me Cry

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

Best Performance at Odds with Okayness of Movie

Ezra Miller, Justice League

Best (Most Neon) Lighting

Atomic Blonde

Best/Only Use of Colton Haynes

Rough Night

Most Overrated Movie

Baby Driver

Best Movie to Watch at Noon on Inauguration Day Because Vin Diesel Is a Valid Form of Self-care

xXx: Return of Xander Cage

Worst Movie at Odds with Ability to Be Better

Kingsman 2: The Golden Circle

Best Movie at Odds with Ability to Be Gayer

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Movies You Couldn’t Pay Me to Care About

The Shape of Water

The Post

Darkest Hour

mother!

Phantom Thread

Whatever Woody Allen’s new movie is called

--

--

Clare Mulligan

Improv comedy. Pop culture. Ginger Spice is my favorite. More things separated by periods.