How To Improve Your English Vocabulary Before Your IELTS Exam

Are you worried your English vocabulary is not advanced enough to get a good score in your IELTS? This article will show you what I did to get a Band 7.

Claudia M. Zedda
5 min readAug 23, 2022
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Vocabulary knowledge is fundamental in any language exam.

For the IELTS, vocabulary makes up to 25% of total marks and it is a key part of both writing and speaking.
For this reason, you should really focus on memorizing and getting familiar with as many words as possible before your exams. Neglecting vocabulary means missing out on points that could get you the desired IELTS band for your professional, academic or personal requirements.

I took the IELTS test back in 2018 during my final year of secondary school with only a few months of preparation.

My grammar knowledge was quite good but I was aware that my vocabulary was quite limited. Over those months I focused on learning vocabulary and improving my writing and speaking. I was hoping to get a 6, but my overall score (before moving to Ireland) ended up being a band 7.

--

--

Claudia M. Zedda

I write about learning, languages, travels and personal development. To read all my content, subscribe here: https://medium.com/@claudiamzedda/membership