Home.

Claudia Flores
2 min readJun 21, 2016

--

As Peter read the outline notes for the meeting, children played outside their classrooms of Johnson Nkosi Primary School for break time. Today, marked the first official meeting between the Mpoma Community HIV/AIDS initiative and Grass Root Onsite Work Interns from GlobeMed at UCLA.

The excitement and eager displayed on everyone’s faces. It could have been from the welcoming hugs and smiles we received from the children when we arrived five minutes ago. They literally ran outside their classrooms midway class. I had never seen so many bright little faces charging all at once to me.

The meeting was held to plan the schedule for the next seven weeks. Each member of the Mpoma team was there: Dennis, Ruth, Aunt Sarah, Betty, Mama Frieda, and Peter. It was only day two and I felt very much at home.

The strong sense of community within the village of Lukojjo and Johnson Nkosi School has made everything easier. Everything is different here, but so easy to adapt to. The hometown I come from does not come nearly close to what Lukojjo is. I barely knew my neighbors of eighteen years. Here, I greet almost everyone who passes by and receive the warmest welcomes.

Children are always playing at the school or around the homes. As the interns and I debate or discuss from time to time about decisions for the project, we always end up to find ourselves laughing with the school kids who pay us a visit.

If working with this amazing community means taking bucket baths for the next seven weeks…

Count me in!

--

--