How Watching Boring Movies Can Improve Your Attention Span

Claudia Sabbadin
4 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Remember those endless summer breaks stuck at home with no phone and limited internet access?

Back then, I used to spend my time watching auteur movies like Barry Lyndon (Kubrick, 1975). I genuinely enjoyed them, unable to understand how anyone could call them boring (sorry for judging you).

Fast forward a decade, and the idea of sitting through such slow-paced movies feels like a modern form of torture. I would just start doing something else while keeping it in the background.

Can you relate? Stick with me as I unpack why your personal old-potentially-boring-movies watch list deserves a second chance.

Playtime

Yesterday, I found out that my local cinema was playing the restored version of “Playtime” (1967) by Jaques Tati at my local cinema for a special event. “Old movie in French with Dutch subtitles” felt like the perfect recipe for a little personal boredom challenge.

Let’s zoom in on a specific scene: the 40-minute restaurant scene (I can feel your thrill!).

Complexity Rollercoaster

As the scene unfolds, I’m surprised by the unexpected stimuli bombardment. The scene seems tailored to my Gen-Z brain.

Our 2024 neural networks are perfectly wired to handle multisensory pathway stimulation. My attention is fully captured and my brain is craving more and more novelty.

Every minute brings in an increase of visual complexity, live music is added to the room and each new character shows their unique comedic traits. Multiple narrative threads could be evolving simultaneously in one view, keeping me hooked.

Unpredictability

But then, the scene just keeps going. And going. I find myself increasingly fatigued and restless. The urge to check the time, regain some control, and sedate the discomfort peeking at the notifications is growing strong. But I resist.

At this point, multiple processes are happening in the brain:

  • The unpredictability of the storytelling is triggering a fight-or-flight response. The narrative arc is not unfolding as expected, activating the anterior cingulate cortex — associated with self-regulation and impulse control.
  • The prefrontal cortex initiates decision-making, weighing the option to disengage and check the time. This is when mental fatigue begins to set in.
  • The amygdala may be activated as a consequence of the preceding processes, resulting in elevated stress levels, which would explain the restlessness.

Slowness

The scene is degenerating but I’m now at a stage of zoning out. The scenes are rolling in front of me and I’m starting to feel that it is never going to end.

Slow content might feel endless compared to social media rapid entertainment. We’re used to bite-sized videos and instant gratification. From the moment our dopamine pathways are activated and create the anticipation, to the gratification, there’s almost no delay.

Reward

After 40 minutes of anticipation, the sun is rising over Paris and we’re finally leaving the restaurant. On the screen, even the characters are worn out by the long evening at the restaurant.

At last, my reward — the scene ends, and the awaited rush of dopamine is released. I feel a weird sense of accomplishment, proud of myself for enduring the whole scene.

Delight

After the discomfort, I find myself calmer. I suddenly start to feel delighted in noticing the little details Tati disseminated in each frame — the subtle reflections of Paris on the windows and the nuanced gestures of the characters.

My perception has shifted, my brain has embraced the slow-paced rhythm. I no longer feel the urge to leave.

Neurologically, this shift may be attributed to the activation of regions associated with attention and reward, such as the ventral striatum and prefrontal cortex.

At last, I was fully immersed in Tati’s little whimsical world.

Embrace the Slow

With a recalibrated attention span, UX designers can focus longer on designing. With fewer interruptions, there’s an opportunity to increase attention to detail, ultimately enabling us to create more impactful user experiences and refined designs.

Next time you’re feeling the need for a dopamine detox, you don’t need to give up your modern life, move to a remote island and bake your own bread in the morning. Instead, consider just giving those old, potentially boring movies another shot. You might find yourself surprisingly delighted!

You can find the full movie on YouTube:

Suggested reads:

--

--

Claudia Sabbadin

UX/UI designer integrating neuroscience and wellness into digital experiences