What Causes Low Self Esteem And How To Get It Back

Claudia A. Altucher
3 min readFeb 24, 2015

--

The endless repetition of negative messages that my mind fires. That is what causes it. I don’t even care where these thoughts come from any more, all I know is they exist, and they torture me.

And when they get rolling…

when those ugly voices pop up and tell me I’m not good in all variations, then this is what I say to them…

When the voices say “It’s crazy to call yourself a success.”
I say:There seems to be a crazy here, but it’s not me.”

To the voices that say “you are not worth it.”
I say:I disagree, but I know how you feel.”

To the voices that say “you are fat.”
I say:I have substance, and I know how to use it.”

To the voices that say “You have an accent.”
I say: Yes, and it’s elegant.

To the voices that say “You are just fishing for compliments.”
I say:I can see how you would see it that way.

To the voices that say “I wish you would die.”
I say:Oh dear! It must be hard to feel so envious.”

To the voices that say “There is nothing special about you.”
I say: “I’m sorry you are short of sight.

To the voices that say “You will die one day! You know?”
I say: “I’ve died so many times, I’m sure I’ll be alright.”

To the voices that say “You are not smart enough.”
I say: Oh… but I am wise! Well beyond my ears.”

To the voices that say “Your stomach is too big.”
I say:Yes, because I am a beautifully well-rounded, woman.”

To the voices that say “You are getting older and you ain’t pretty.”
I say:There is beauty in giving life in new ways: in writing form-in dancing form-in painting form-in speaking word-in yoga pose, in any form!

To the voices that say “You are not a prodigy and never will be.”
I say:Meh.”

To the voices that say “It’s not good.”
I say:It is.”

To the voices that say “You are not allowed, authorized, permitted, certified.”
I say: “Oops! I lost that memo.”

To the voices that say “It has been done.”
I say: It has not been done with my special touch yet.”

To the voices that say “You have no proof.”
I say:I don’t need proof for what works for me.”

To the voices that say “There is no god.”
I say: Maybe.”

To the voices that say “You should shut up.”
I say: “Oh men, you’re in for it!”

—-
To the voices that say “keep going, keep trying, keep at it!”
I say: “I will! I am! I know!”

To the voices that say “there is talent here”
I say: “Yes!”

To the voices that say “you are strong”
I say: “Thank you James

And to the voice that says: “Don’t publish this, I don’t know if you embody all of this.”
I say…Publish

[photo of stickers from here]

--

--