7 tips to help boost iPhone 6s battery life

Claudio Bellosta
3 min readDec 14, 2015

One month ago I bought my new beast, the new Apple iPhone 6s! The switch from my old iPhone 4 to the new model is like to pass to ride a Fiat Panda in a Ferrari F430. Everything is cool: display, camera, touch ID, Siri, audio, etc… But, a big problem however persists, the life battery drains quickly. So, I tried to find a good settings for solving this problem.

Here that’s what I did:

1. Turn down brightness

Lighting the pixels on my iPhone’s Retina display requires a lot of energy, so excessive screen brightness is the biggest iPhone battery killer. A quick fix is to turn down brightness using the slider in Control Center, accessed by swiping up from the bottom of the display. Drag the brightness slider as far left as possible, but with a setting that still leaves your device usable.

2. Auto-lock your iPhone

A lot of times happens, during my daily routine, to keep my iPhone active (waiting some client feedback or text from a friend, for example) so I decided to setup the auto-lock to my iPhone after 30 seconds of inactivity. This will provide a substantial improvement to battery life over time.

3. Turning on Airplane Mode

One of the biggest drains of battery life is the antenna, because it’s constantly checking for nearby cellular and Wi-Fi networks. If you don’t need to access data, make, or receive, calls, and you don’t require GPS (for maps) you could put the phone into flight mode and stop all use of the iPhone’s antenna. If you need to use data, you can still use Wi-Fi when Airplane Mode is turned on after switching on Airplane Mode, tap the WiFi icon beside it and connect to the Wi-Fi network of your choice.

4. Disable Bluetooth and AirDrop

Bluetooth is considered to be a battery-drainer. If you’re not using it to connect to a speaker or other accessory, switch it off. Only turn on Bluetooth and AirDrop when it’s needed.

5. Stop Notification

Each time a notification is received, the iPhone’s screen lights up and it plays a sound, which uses energy. Every message wakes your device for 5 to 10 seconds, and that can add up, if you get a lot of notifications every day, to a small percentage of your daily battery charge. So you can decided from which app receive notification (in my case, I setup notification for text, What’s App and mail).

6. Stop Location services

I use the location services just when I need it: to arrive in a new place I used to switch my iPhone into a TomTom with GoogleMaps, when I post some cool photos on Instagram I like to set a location…

7. Disabling app updating

It is a useful feature that means that apps will always be up-to-date, but can be a drain for my iPhone. So I deactivate this feature and, at the end of the week when I have some freetime, I spent 10 minutes to check the app update.

Conclusions

I found so many interesting topics on the web about it, so this is my personal opinion and my own iPhone 6s setup, actually.

If you want customize your new iPhone, feel free to download a wallpaper to my website

Let me know which setup are you currently using!

--

--