Cleveland Johnson III
2 min readOct 26, 2022

--

Photo by Morgan Housel on Unsplash

My Day Off

As soon as I wake up

I get the urge to bake stuff

So, I load up my bong and take a puff

Quickly I realize the bud got me flying high as pilots

Just look at the low eyelids

But that’s normal with most hybrids

Followed by a delayed cough

Now I’m couch locked on my day off

Because right now these cushions feel way too soft

Let me find something on tv before I go to sleep

Or before my mind start to tweak

So, I turn on ESPN to see if my team had a good week

Sooner or later, I get horizontal as I get a little comfy

I doze off for a quick second then get up feeling a little grumpy

The munchies kicked in and I’m hungry

I soon find out the fridge so empty the door laughed

So, I make an order on DoorDash

I’m hoping they have a hurry up feature so it can reach my door fast

Stomach rumbling I’m like what's the delay

I updated the app, and it still says 25 minutes away

Feeling hangry I’m thinking like should I just roll a jay

Well, no rolling lately more like filling up technically

Grind bud, fill joint, tap and twist then repeat like it's a recipe

Three hits then good night, is that why it's called “kings' legacy”

But I’m going to hold off until I get my food I’m hoping

Checked the status and it said my food was approaching

When I finally got my food, I stuffed my face until my belly was swollen

Then sat back grabbed the joint and did some lighting

So, I can finally calm down and do some writing

And maybe some texting and typing

But nothing really exciting

Nowadays I choose to home it

Especially with the colder weather plus covid

I just hibernate and get toasted

I’m feeling creative so I guess I’ll write

Or record something if I’m in the mood to recite

Damn the joint went out I need to relight

Too much thinking got me spacing

Too many ideas in my head got my mind pacing

Too high to smoke anymore so I put it out and saved it

Before I knew it was the evening

The whole day without work calling, peace and relaxation is what I’m believing in

Then the phone ring, damn I just jinxed myself I thought as I picked up the phone; hello this is Cleveland

--

--