Review series: ‘LIVE (2018)’ 4 beautiful things I found impressive from this Korean Drama.

Cloud9Milestone
3 min readDec 21, 2022

--

.

If you are a fan of Running Man (a famous South Korean variety show), you might recognize Lee Kwang-soo on the poster of the ‘Live’ Korean drama series. Although I’ve enjoyed watching Running Man for many years, I don’t choose a series to watch in such based on the actors I know. Instead of that, the police-related storyline draws me in.

While I was sick of watching series with multiple episodes that focus on the storyline in which the protagonists must solve one secret or problem for whole episodes; the antagonists and difficulties are usually revealed at the climax. That’s not how the Korean drama ‘Live’ (2018) is

So, these are 4 impressive things I found about ‘Live’

.

1. The lifelike environment of South Korean police

The lifelike of the South Korean police is conveyed in this series’ storyline. The plot’s primary focus isn’t only on addressing the significant issues of murder or crime. Still, it reflects the difficulties and environments that South Korean police have to deal with on a daily basis: which wasn’t what I expected.

Over 18 episodes, several issues are solved. Whether, their duties each day that policemen have to handle such as murdering, dealing with drunken people, handling misbehaving teenagers, or/and even a classic statement we often hear from wealthy people in movies that often asks, “Do you know who I am?” which is also seen in the scene (and it could annoy you, trust me, Lol).

This series is very approachable since it represents a person’s everyday battle for their lives and jobs.

.

2. The limitations of working as a police

You could see (part of) what South Korean policemen go through in ‘Live’, including the limitations that make it difficult for them to work comfortably, such as being restricted by laws or rules because it’s hard to follow the rules in some (real) situations. It’s undeniable that some policemen may experience those difficult circumstances in real life. While watching this series, I can’t help but think that I’d feel really bad if a member of my family served as a police officer and had to deal with similar circumstances like that.

This series reminds me that every duty has a certain rule that will challenge you. So — be kind (Lol).

.

3. Beautiful relationship among the colleague

Many actors play police officers in this series and those characters will want you to cheer them up till the end of the series.

My thought that ‘Live’ will undoubtedly have an antagonist at the police station; was influenced by the many films and series I’ve previously watched. I kept waiting for the antagonist supposed to appear, but there wasn’t. And the loyalty and the unity of the characters (policemen) to the organization made me feel heartwarming, this is the main reason that I love this series so much.

The loyalty

.

4. Addicted to the songs (soundtrack)

While you watch the entire of ‘Live’, the beautiful songs play perfectly for the senses. It led me to look for the song’s name and artist.

My favorite songs are ‘Carry Me’ by Family of the Year, and song by Tin Sparrow’s ‘For You’. But the song I enjoy listening to the most is called ‘In Your Light’ by Jon Allen, which brought tears to my eyes sometimes.

The songs are amazing, you can check it out and you might love it just like I do.

.

Series Quotes: Live (2018)

To sum up,

Actually, I was hesitant about whether or not to continue watching this Korean Drama after the opening scene as I worried that the plot could be sad or stressful. After watching a couple of episodes, it was so hard for me to stop watching it, I was immensely appreciative of the touching story that was conveyed throughout 18 episodes.

‘Live’ was a worth-watching series and my favorite series ever, it’s realistic, approachable, simply, and not boring at all. In my opinion, its storyline could bring season 2 and I hope it’ll happen someday.

Note: If you’re interested, you can watch ‘Live’ (2018) on Netflix.

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Cloud9Milestone

Life learner -- interested in diversity, design, self-development, and TV programs. Wandering in a gallery environment is one of my healing.