Learn with AWS Educate

Jason Gautama
3 min readDec 30, 2023

--

Disclaimer: This blog post is a quick 1-min reading intended for Individual who have no experience to cloud. There are many great resources/labs to learn the basic of cloud services with other providers, such as GCP Cloud Skills Boost, but this post will highlight about AWS Educate.

Overview

As I am preparing for my upcoming interview, one of my interview preparation is refreshing my cloud skills. As I browsing through the web, I landed on AWS Educate. Given my level of experience in cloud, I constantly looking for a place where I can learn more to help people who want to explore the career path in Cloud Security, DevOps, SRE.

To register, you can sign up at https://www.awseducate.com/registration/s/registration-detail

Who is AWS Educate Audience

Based on the content in the AWS Educate portal, it is intended for beginners who wants to learn about cloud fundamentals 101. They also have special topics like Intro to Gen AI. There is a few intermediate/expert courses as of this writing. So if you want to learn about services like VPC / AWS Security Hub, you may want to find it elsewhere

Why AWS Educate

  1. This is a good way to learn about AWS terminology (EC2, Lambda, etc), cloud terminology (VPC, IAM, SSH, etc), and Cybersecurity 101 (Phishing, Ransomware, etc)
  2. Gain hands-on experience with AWS Portal (Console) without needing to create your own account
  3. Access to Job Portal when you create AWS Educate account
https://aws.amazon.com/education/awseducate/

Let me share one course that I have taken so you can see how it looks like.

  • First, I decided to learn “Logging into a Linux Instance Using Amazon EC2 Instance Connect”
  • When you start the course, it will create a Canvas Course where you can see the Modules where you will go through the Interactive lessons and Lab.
  • In the Lab, click the “Start Lab” — this will take 2-min for vocareum labs to create the temporary AWS account for you to do the lab.
  • Once it is provisioned, you can click the “AWS” button which will open the AWS portal where you will do the hands-on lab. Have fun!!
Screenshot of the Labs that is accessible via the AWS Canvas
AWS Console > EC2 Dashboard

[additional feature] Job Portal

This is surprising to me that AWS Educate provides Job Portal. Personally, I use LinkedIn to find jobs opening. With AWS Educate, this can help me to have extra database of job openings that I can use.

AWS Educate Job Portal

Summary

If you find this article useful, please support by clicking the handclap below and follow my page to learn about Cloud and Security topics. Thank you!

--

--

Jason Gautama

Security Software Engineer Newbie who shares about security, distributed systems and eager to learn more from other talented engineers.