Icosagon

Christine is a Wallflower
9 min readSep 6, 2018

A fictional short story on the idea of how we can be in the same space, but in different places

[Case Study] Cafe:

Maximum Capacity: 20 people

Name: Caffeine and More

Condition: Soft Opening

Hours: 8am-7pm

Location: Somewhere in the U.S.

Rawpixel.com/Stocksnap.io

Mary and Sean:

A tall and lanky man with a striped button-up makes his way towards a lady who is re-adjusting her silk blouse. “Mary? You’re here early! My name is Sean… Shall we begin this interview?”

They shake hands and take a seat.

Mary keeps her eyes on Sean’s, “Hello, Sean.” She straightens her pencil skirt. “It is so very nice to meet you…Yes, I am ready when you are.”

Laying out a few papers, he begins to speak. “Thank you for meeting me here. I looked over your resume, and our company believes that you are a very experienced candidate. Before we proceed, however, I will be asking you a few questions to see if you’re a good match for this position.”

Their voices tune out as I get more invested in my writing.

But in the background, I can faintly hear Mary responding enthusiastically, with at least one “yes” in every sentence. “Yes, I would be willing to commute. Yes, I…

--

--