Who the 3 Apostles Represent (& The Story of the Lost Peacock)

Christopher Kirkland
8 min readOct 5, 2015

--

Elder Ronald A. Rasband, Elder Gary E. Stevenson and Elder Dale G. Renlund were named to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints on Saturday, October 3, 2015.

Yesterday, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced the calling of three new individuals to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, the second highest governing body within the Church. You can get to know them here.

These three men however, are not exactly the 3 Apostles I want to talk about.

Prior to this week’s announcement, there was much speculation about who the three would be. Since the last Semi-Annual Conference of the LDS Church (also sometimes know as the Mormon Church) in April, three Apostles had passed away, creating the now filled vacancies. Members and non-members alike threw their prophetic hats into the ring, making guesses and sometimes even “recommendations” that they hoped Thomas S. Monson — the President of the Church — would heed.

In the last 24 hours, some conversations have now transitioned to analysis of these three men. Without embarrassing any particular social media user, it suffices me to say that some commentaries have been lacking the most basic understanding of the doctrine of Apostleship. They have lamented that there is not enough color, not enough non-native English speakers, not enough heritage from this region or that country, or not enough representation or background in some policy or cause they advocate. Mainly they seem to think that diversity in leadership color and accent is the right way to help everyone feel “included” and be politically correct in a worldwide church.

How unknowing these statements are! The wide gap between their beliefs and reality must be closed if they are to enjoy the full value of a living apostle.

The best way to understand the correct principle pertaining to Apostleship is to consider the scriptures and the example of three Apostles: Peter, James, and John.

Significance to Latter-day Saints

Most Christian faiths acknowledge the primacy of these three apostles. In the New Testament, Peter, James, and John are afforded special recognition and experiences not given to the rest of the Apostles. For example, they alone participated in the experience that occurred on the Mount of Transfiguration. They alone experienced the raising of the daughter of Jairus. They alone were with the Savior in Gethsemane.

According to records kept by the Mormon Church, these three Apostles also appeared to Joseph Smith and Oliver Cowdery to restore heavenly authority which Mormons believe was lost when the first generation of Apostles were martyred. Just two weeks ago, an expansive visitor’s center was commemorated for use by the new President of the Quorum of the Twelve. Mormon’s belief that they have authority to act in God’s name is directly related to this event. Everyone ordained to the priesthood in the LDS faith can trace their authority back to these two men, just like a genealogy.

A depiction of the LDS belief that the ancient apostles Peter, James, and John, gave priesthood authority to Joseph Smith.

Peter, James, and John also play a symbolic role in other aspects of Mormon worship. Church members might wonder why these three are singled out for special allegorical representation.

Representation of the Godhead

It is generally agreed that these three were the chiefs of the other Apostles, and that leadership after Christ’s death and resurrection rested with them. They constituted a governing body or quorum. Members of the Mormon faith would refer to this as a “presidency”.

In addition to being their own presidency, the lives of Peter, James, and John are representative of the “heavenly” presidency— God the Father, His son Jesus Christ, and the Holy Ghost.

John as Holy Ghost

In John’s gospel, he almost entirely goes nameless, often referring to himself as “the disciple whom Jesus loved” or “that other apostle”. Similarly, we only know the Holy Ghost as a personage, but more proper identification is withheld.

John was also — with his brother James — one of the sons of an Israelite named Zebedee. Their name means “gift” or “endowment” of God. We often refer to “the gifts” of the Holy Spirit.

John was promised that he would be able to remain on the earth until Christ returned (John 21:23). Until that time, it is believed by some that he was “translated” — a state somewhere in between normal life and being resurrected with a glorified immortal body. Mormons come to the conclusion that Peter and James do have glorified immortal bodies, as they physically laid their hands on Joseph and Oliver to give them priesthood authority. Mormons believe that John will one day have a glorified body like Peter and James, just like the Holy Ghost will have a body like the Father and Son.

James as Jesus Christ

James has a brother in his Presidency (John), just as Christ does in His(the Holy Ghost). He too was a son of Zebedee, and it almost goes without saying that Christ could be seen as a gift from God.

We don’t have much else from James, as he was put to death by Herod’s sword. Similarly however, Herod tried to kill the infant Jesus.

Peter as the Father

At first this connection isn’t apparent, for there aren’t any specific parallels. I think it is because the pattern is more grand: Peter loved Jesus more than anyone else. True it is that he abandoned him one awful night, leaving him alone to face the cruelty and malice of the world. But he then wept bitterly, just as we suppose the Father wept after hearing “My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?” (Matthew 27:46) In fact, one possible conclusion as to Peter’s behavior and subsequent tears is not that he was a coward, but that he realized the utter aloneness that would soon come upon his Lord.

Later on, he would respond affirmatively when asked “Lovest thou me more than these?” (John 21:15) Truly God loves each of us, but none more than “My Beloved Son.”

There is an even subtler pattern. Peter seems to grow into a perfect man through enduring well his experiences and sufferings. In other words, he attained his now lofty station in the same way you and I can: line upon line.

God’s Representatives

Apostles are God’s representatives to us. They do not represent us to God: that type of representation is in the exact opposite direction from the true nature of the calling. And we shouldn’t expect them to mirror or even suggest the ethnicity or nationality of the LDS Church as a whole — or the greater planet for that matter. When the Twelve Apostles meet, I’m sure one isn’t saying “The members in Germany, whom I chiefly identify with — desire the following…” Or, “the members on the East Coast really want a temple in this location…”

It just doesn’t work like that. They are striving to obtain the Lord’s will, after which they put it in place as administrators of the Church.

A Lost Peacock

The question then becomes, “Are the LDS Apostles informed? Are they asking the Lord the right questions, knowing what is happening at the grassroots level? Or are they insulated? Are they praying for inspiration relative to me?”

This question is easily answered if you believe that Apostles are as familiar with the Godhead as they imply. Nevertheless I’ll share one story.

One day in the late fall I was visiting my parents when a peacock wandered into the yard. When the bird saw me, he nonchalantly did a 180-degree strut and headed for the neighbors. That seemed to make sense to me, because they had actually owned peacocks many times over the years. I figured one had gotten lose. By the time I went over, I saw it disappear around the side of the house into the backyard.

I knocked on the door, and after a quick conversation I came to discover that the neighbors weren’t keeping any peacocks at the time, but the elderly old man could guess whose they were and said he would help me catch it. He emerged a few minutes later with a large net and a coat for me to wear.

“I’m going to go around back.” Then with a wink he said “Stay here. . . and don’t let him get past you!”

So I slipped on the coat and stood there in the driveway. It had been raining, and was somewhat chilly, so I put my hands into the pockets.

My hands felt some papers. Normally I’m not a nosy guy, but I guess now is as good a time as any to mention that my hunting partner and the owner of the coat was Boyd K. Packer, one of the three Apostles who passed away recently causing the three new vacancies. At the time, he was actually the President of the Twelve.

I’d like to give the impression that the struggle to mind my own business lasted longer than about 5 seconds, but it wouldn’t be true. Curiosity quickly got the better of me, and after checking to make sure no one was looking, I pulled out the paper for a quick examination. What I saw left me stunned.

The paper I held in my hand was a 2-week calendar chronicling the activities of an octogenarian Apostle a few months prior. As I recall, it detailed several international trips, with various appointments and stops at each location, and meetings with leaders of both the Church and the communities that were visited. During the brief stateside moments, there were training meetings, committee meetings, board meetings, all of which I realized he was probably chairing. There was time scheduled with various church authorities from around the world, presumably to check in and hear from them about their area of responsibility. I was exhausted just thinking about it, and I was in my mid 30's! I remember feeling a renewed sense of awe and respect for the life service of apostleship. There was no way a person who connected so regularly, with so many people, across such a wide array of backgrounds, from so many countries, constantly getting information and feedback from multiple sources, could be anything but deeply aware of every issue and challenge facing the LDS Church and it’s members. Not to mention the world.

Do I worry about the Apostles knowing what issues I’m struggling with? Not at all. Some might say that’s easy enough to say for a white guy who (now) lives in Utah, but I know they know me because who they represent knows me. And they pay the price to learn all they can before coming to the Lord with questions.

If true Apostles of Jesus Christ roam the earth, we should want them to bear HIS likeness, not ours. That is the ancient pattern. They are not OUR representatives — they are GOD’s representatives.

Five minutes after my snooping was done, President Packer came trudging through the brush from the opposite side of the house. He looked at me as if sizing me up, and asked honestly “Did you let him get past you?” I couldn’t help but let out a laugh, as I assured him I wasn’t bested by a large, slow bird.

“Well,” he said, “they can fly you know. They seem slow, but they’re a lot more capable and intelligent than people think. I’m sure he’s probably gone back to his home.”

Indeed he has.

--

--