It’s Game Time

David P Dorsey
2 min readAug 11, 2019

--

What signifies that you’re ready for action?

For me, when I tuck in my shirt at the gym. It is go-time. Something in my head switches and immediately I am zoned in. Whether I’m at the busiest gym ever, or I’m completely alone. It doesn’t matter.

I have always had some form of “light switch” for when it’s time to go to battle.

For the gym it has been:

specific shoes I only wear when it’s time to train

a specific playlist I listen to to get me pumped either beforehand or during my workout

a specific shirt I love I only wear when I’m focused and ready to put in work

You can also do this with events and situations outside of the gym.

For example:

I will typically listen to the same 2–4 pieces of music when it is time for me to dive into a deep study session

If I am about to write I love brewing a cup of coffee, even if it is decaf

If I’m preparing for a long drive, podcasts will zone me in and prepare me for the mileage to come

I encourage you to find what motivates you to put in the work. To cheat the system and get in the “zone” immediately. If you can think of a few off the top of your head, drop them in the comment section below. I’m always willing to try out new methods.

DPD

--

--

David P Dorsey

thinker. writer. lifelong student. human performance enthusiast.