Defining Anthem?

Better The Devil You Know

Coach Francois
1 min readMar 29, 2024

My defining anthem is a [British] hit song by Australia’s pop princess Kylie Minogue. It’s not her biggest hit (that would be Can’t Get You Out Of My Head, the most played song of the 2000s), but it came out in the 90s, a pivotal decade for me.

I remember ordering the 12" LP from a UK catalogue (Oldies Unlimited). I remember waiting over a month to get it in the mail. That delayed satisfaction, the anticipation and the pure joy of owning this record, knowing I likely was one of the few Canadians with a copy of this precious record.

I didn’t really speak English at the time, so I didn’t know the lyrics weren’t that special. But this song is the one I turn to when I want to walk down memory lane.

What’s yours?

The 30-day Medium writing challenge (150 words or less)

Day 14 prompt: About a favourite song

--

--

Coach Francois

I support new leaders, small business owners and mid-career corporate employees thrive.