Coach in the North
6 min readJan 7, 2018
The last sunset of 2017, shot at Vagator.

Learnings from a tumultuous, but ultimately rewarding year.

2017 started out pretty much like all the previous years, with me wondering how the past year flew by and, where, if at all, my life was headed. Ever since my late teens worrying about my future had been a constant feature in my life, with only the degree of worry, and the reasons, changing over the years. This past year was different for one big reason.

I trained as a Strength and Conditioning/CrossFit coach at a prominent facility in Bangalore. I had been working for just over 5 years and during these years, work always kept me going. If there was one reason for me to wake up, it was the work I did and the people I trained. During the many ups and downs over the years, work kept me sane, optimistic. 2017 was different.

It didn’t happen overnight. I didn’t wake up one day, having had an epiphany and realise that things weren’t great. As it usually does in any long standing relationship, it started with minor issues and then snowballed. Despite clearly wanting to quit, I held on because I had an emotional connect with the people I trained and worked with. I would like to say I was a professional and maintained my work ethic through this entire period but I would be lying to myself. The passion and enthusiasm I had for training and imparting knowledge onto others was slowly burning out.

There always comes a tipping point, and mine did in early July. Having given it enough thought, I took the big step of moving out of a company that I had been part of since its inception and one whose future, much like Harry’s and Lord Voldy’s, I thought was intertwined with my own!

Some learnings from these past 12 months:

  1. Do good work.

    Upon quitting, the affection and support I received from my clients left me pleasantly surprised.

    Don’t take your work for granted, don’t take clients’ time for granted. If you’re in a client facing role like I was, it is even more important that you always put their needs first and do not allow your personal issues affect your work space. It goes without saying, but I am still amazed this isn’t a standard. Value their time and make your time valuable to them. They will always be appreciative of it.
  2. Karma.

    I was brought up being asked to do good, without expecting anything in return. My mother used to say “If you do good, it will come back to you, one way or another, one day or another, but don’t go around doing good just because you expect to get something in return. Do good because it’s the right thing to do”. Goodwill begets goodwill.

    Months after having quit my previous company, I still get requests from ex-clients and acquaintances to train them or people they have referenced. Clearly, I did some things right!
  3. Grab every opportunity.

    Right after I quit, a friend put me in touch with a couple of folks who were interested in having their young kids, both sportsmen, trained. These meetings were last minute and quite late in the day. On a typical day, I would have rescheduled the meet, but over the years I have realised the growing need and importance of networking. Especially if you’re a freelancer like me.

    Putting myself out there and letting people know what I do is important. It may not bear fruit immediately, but it cost me nothing but a few minutes of my free time. And I ended up signing them both on!
  4. Learn to say No.

    As much as I would like to accept every potential client that comes my way, I need to be honest to my craft and my body. I learnt this the hard way when I bit more than I could chew. Luckily enough, it was right after I started freelancing and I could course correct quickly.

    A clear, definitive “No, sorry” is always better than an empty promise.
  5. Prioritise!

    We have all read enough on how important it is to prioritise. And yet, my decisions were based not on the stark realities that faced me, but on a fanciful idea of what freelancing would be like: I had decided to work only 12 hours a week and spend more time pursuing my hobbies. I had decided I would travel once a month. I would only work with a select few people and only at hours that suited me.

    The reality was different: I had no hold over my finances and it would not support such a free-spirited lifestyle. I had to step back, accept the realities and prioritise my wants over my needs.
  6. Reject negativity.

    Just as Goodwill begets goodwill, negativity breeds negativity. Set aside negativity and focus on things, anything, that uplifts your mood. Every. Single. Day.

    The first half of the year was probably the most stressful of times for me and I was full of negative thoughts and energy. Identifying the root cause was important and once I did, acting upon it took priority. This meant I had to let go of friendships, working relationships and cut off all social media.

    The sudden break wasn’t easy but in the long run, it was always the right move.
  7. Embrace positivity.

    Cliched, I know. And yet this was an important factor in me getting rid of all the bitterness that had built up over the final few weeks. I am forever grateful to my friends and family for the positive reinforcement I received from them.

    Quitting my job and making a drastic change in my career, and thus my life, was a decision that wasn’t easy to get to, but when I did take the step, I had everyone’s support and backing; not a single person I consulted told me I was making a mistake or asked me to think it over.

    If not for their unconditional support, my career would still be in the crossroads.
  8. Be Instinctive.

    Listen to your instinct. The few regrets that I have, are the times when I went against it.
  9. Be selfish.

    When the need arises, put your own interests first.

    I was meek, I allowed myself to be pushed over. I lacked gumption and worse, I lacked ambition. I did not want to be perceived as someone always putting his needs first. When the need arose for me to put my foot down and stand my ground I faltered. In a worse environment I would have been trampled over.
  10. Be Humble.

    This is something that is hard for me to do. I find humility usually boring, and in my case, fake. I have always come across as an arrogant SoB and it’s usually because I have been one.

    Not sure what’s changed but having realised it’s a tough world out there and knowing I am privileged enough to be doing what I like did humble me significantly.

    Knowing you’re doing good work and being rewarded for it is humbling in itself. For this, I would like to thank my clients who have been very open with application and feedback. It keeps me motivated and more importantly, grounded.
  11. Be your own Master.

    For years I had imagined the company’s future and mine own were headed in the same direction; I did not see myself parting ways, and definitely not this early. But it was a decision I had to take, and all things considered, it was the right one.

    I am now privileged enough to be in a position to choose where I go in life. It’s not something I take for granted. It has come through a few years of hard work, but as Robert Frost wrote “And miles to go before I sleep”

When I quit nearly 6 months ago, I wasn’t 100% sure of what it was I intended to do. All I did know was that I had to start afresh and regain the love and passion I had for what I did. Luckily enough, that didn’t take too long and now I am looking forward to what is promising to be an extremely exciting 2018!

If you liked what you read, go ahead and hit the clap button below!

What did you learn in 2017? or 2016? And what are you excited for in 2018? Leave a comment below!

Follow up blog on what I plan to do this year!

Coach in the North

Freelancing CrossFit/Strength and Conditioning coach. Musings from my everyday interactions.