An Important Lesson I Learned About Goal-Direction

K. Joia Houheneka
3 min readDec 3, 2018
Photo by Larisa Birta on Unsplash

Last night at a party, I was introduced to a district attorney who for the purpose of this story can remain nameless. Suffice to say, this district attorney had achieved an impressive career.

I noticed that our host Billy poured the drinks for this district attorney himself, being quite generous with the expensive alcohol. An atypical gesture, I observed.

The attorney appeared to me a vigorous man, apparently in his early fifties and now riding the crest of career success many years long…but I noticed he didn’t speak much about of his work.

Mostly he was talking about the prospect of early retirement within the next few years…

“What’s moved him?” I wondered, as I usually do.

It was when I spoke of my own first steps forging the course of my life’s work as an entrepreneur that his eyes lifted wide and his words began to reveal the question’s answer:

“Goal-direction.”

Goal-direction was the theme to his movement. Explicitly and repeatedly, he used that term.

He told a story about his youth, how he had traveled abroad (to Europe presumably) and saw that the people there were content to live day by day, day after day, anticipating only the next meal and…

--

--

K. Joia Houheneka

"The World's Premier Excellence Coach" empowering entrepreneurs building high-end, premium, and luxury brands - On a Mission to Elevate Luxury