The Top 3 Lessons in Creative Achievement I Learned from Reading Darwin’s The Voyage of the Beagle

K. Joia Houheneka
7 min readDec 3, 2019

Because every voyage should be a “voyage of discovery.”

Photo by Aman Mahapatra on Unsplash

I love travel narratives.

Ever since I was a child, I thrilled to hear stories of adventures across the globe, and I dreamed of seeing and experiencing the world for myself.

Of all the travel stories in human history, there is one that has always personally inspired me above all others: Darwin’s voyage on the H.M.S. Beagle, his five-year journey from England to coastal destinations around South America and the Pacific which led to his innovative ideas about natural selection and evolution.

One of my top bucket list travel destinations is the Galapagos Islands, a place of modern pilgrimage for many of us who admire Darwin’s achievements and want to pay our respects for the insight the place inspired.

Darwinian Inspiration

The thing is, as much as I would like to see for myself the sights that inspired Darwin, the particulars that inspired him are not quite what inspire me.

After all, I’m not a 19th century naturalist working to move forward theories about biology. (Though, admittedly, it’s enlightening to spend some time getting wrapped up in Darwin’s…

--

--

K. Joia Houheneka

"The World's Premier Excellence Coach" empowering entrepreneurs building high-end, premium, and luxury brands - On a Mission to Elevate Luxury