Why Entrepreneurs Need a Coach, and Not Another Mentor or Consultant

K. Joia Houheneka
5 min readDec 2, 2019

Coaching vs. Mentoring — yes, there is a difference.

I want to start by saying: mentors and consultants are definitely valuable.

As I’ve worked to grow my own business, I’ve had the opportunity to connect with many different consultants and mentors, and I’m appreciative for all the wisdom they’ve won through experience and learning that they’ve shared with me.

But I’ve also had the opportunity to work with coaches. And I’ve discovered that coaching is something different.

Another caveat: some of the best consulting/mentoring sessions do incorporate coaching, and some of the best coaching sessions do incorporate consulting/mentoring.

In fact, that’s how I approach my own work as a Leadership Coach for Entrepreneurs. Although my approach is primarily coaching, I do incorporate consulting and mentoring as well, and admittedly the combination makes for a more powerful professional development program.

However, I find it useful to keep the distinction in mind.

Coaching Vs. Mentoring or Consulting

Here’s the difference:

Mentoring / Consulting is a process in which the professional imparts their expertise to…

--

--

K. Joia Houheneka

"The World's Premier Excellence Coach" empowering entrepreneurs building high-end, premium, and luxury brands - On a Mission to Elevate Luxury