Crypto Can Change the World, But Can it Change Your Life?

Aaron Coburn
6 min readAug 19, 2020

Can a meme-coin change your life?

It sounds like a silly question, I know, but bear with me for a few minutes. In the last few days my eyes have been opened to something entirely new in the crypto space.

It started with a meme. It was a face surrounded by a flash of neon, a face I recognized, a face I think most people would recognize. I scrolled past it on my foray through crypto twitter as if it were noise. Not for me. I’m not a meme-coin guy. What’s the value in a meme coin? I’m out looking for the next big thing, the next world changing idea, the next token that will be sure to gain 1000x.

I’ve thought a lot about how crypto will change the world over the past four years. I was an early investor in Ethereum and later Antshares which became Neo. Crypto changed my financial situation, gave me a level of freedom I had never experienced. It enriched me. It changed the world — and it will continue to change the world. But that’s because it’s going to do big things, right?

I don’t know why I visited the meme-coin’s telegram group. Perhaps it’s because I was raised in a Christian family, complete with weekly church and Sunday school. Or maybe it was the simplicity of the message, the persistence, that neon theme so much like those signs that string the highways heading south through North Carolina and advertise a place that begins to seem magical: South of the Border, which it turns out is just a fireworks store. Of course, that was years…

--

--

Aaron Coburn
0 Followers

Struggling novelist, sometimes hang glider, crypto currency fanatic, in a love/hate relationship with all kinds of luck