“duraation” or change how to track and manage time by your phone

Emad A.
3 min readAug 7, 2015

--

Many years ago, when I was working on several projects at a same time having a track of activities were being done was a must for me. I did need to know how much time has been spent for a specific task and also a group of similar tasks. I was after a mobile/web application to do this for me. There were plenty systems were claiming that will do what I want but no one was what I needed. So, the OS X Calnedar and definitely my paper notebook were my final assistants.

I’d written a simple AppleScript file to help me to have all activities I needed to know about in a specific period of time in a formatted txt file. Not cool, because the exported files were not synced with the latest changes on the calendar and also after a few months there were too many files generated! So, I thought why shouldn’t be there a clean, neat and simple application to do this simple task? Why all apps are this much complicated and have too many features I really don't want? But I was too busy to be able to define another project for myself.

I kept the whole idea in my mind until early this year when I realised I do need it and can’t go this way anymore. Then, took a peice of paper, draw the wireframes and after two weeks all the prototype was ready. Created my very first Swift project in Xcode and started coding while I was learning Swift as well. Finally app released and is availble now but how can it help you?

According to Wikipedia, Time Management is the act or process of planning and exercising conscious control over the amount of time spent on specific activities, especially to increase effectiveness, efficiency or productivity. This is exactly what duraation do for you.

Consider you want to know how much time you spend at your workplace and working on a specific project. The only thing you need to do is describing your activity by right keywords, aka hashtags. For example, “At #workplace project #Appa — inbox controller got ready” or “#meeting at #workplace for project #Samanak”.

Now, you are able to create an overview based on your keywords. duraation will do the rest and you will have a list of activities containing the hashtags and done on defined period of time plus the total amount of time has been spent there. So, you will know the amount of time you were at your #workplace and was working on project #Appa or how much time you were in #meeting. This is Time Management in the most simple possible way.

You can do this not only for work or your projects but also for all aspects of your life that you think time management matters. For having fun, eating out, drinking, commuting and so on.

So, harry up. Let duraation does it work!

--

--

Emad A.

iOS commando / Interested in UI/UX design / iPhonographer