What to Write in a Christmas Card?

John Negoita
8 min readNov 20, 2019
What to write in a Christmas card?

Each year, approximately 1.9 billion Christmas cards are sent out in the US alone according to Wikipedia.

That’s a lot!

When sending out Christmas cards, it can be quite a challenge to find the right Christmas card message for the person you are sending it. Depending on who you are sending it to, certain styles, phrases and Christmas sayings are more appropriate than others.

So, if you don’t know what to write in a Christmas card, this list will help you. I’ve grouped the Christmas card messages by style and by the type of person you intend to send. Below you will find Christmas messages for cards that you can send to family, friends, your clients, your employees or even your boss.

Quick note: Before we go into what to write on a Christmas card, it’s also important to think how you are going to write the Christmas card messages. Will you hand write them or print them? If you are planning to print your Christmas card messages this year, you have to check out this absolutely amazing list of hand picked fonts with +50 FREE Christmas fonts that you can use on your computer or online.

And now, let’s get started and see what to write on the inside of a Christmas card:

Christmas Wishes for Friends

Christmas wishes for friends
Christmas Card with Message made online with MockoFun

Let’s see a couple of friends Christmas messages you can write on or inside a card:

  • May this festive season sparkle and shine, may all of your wishes and dreams come true, and may you feel this happiness all year round. Merry Christmas to you and your family!
  • Christmas is a special time to enjoy with all your loved ones, spreading divinity and cheer around, Merry Christmas and a happy new year!
  • Warmest thoughts and best wishes for a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year. May peace, love and prosperity follow you always
  • Having you as my friend makes me feel as if it is Christmas every day. Merry Christmas to my dear friend, may this season be filled with joy and laughter for you and your family.
  • May your Christmas sparkle with moments of love, laughter and goodwill, And may the year ahead be full of contentment and joy.
  • There is no greater gift this festive season than spending time with family all around the Christmas tree.
  • May you have the spirit of Christmas which is Peace, the gladness of Christmas which is Hope, and the Heart of Christmas which is Love.

Christmas Wishes for Loved Ones

Christmas wishes for loved ones
Winter Christmas Card made online with MockoFun

If you are writing a Christmas card messages for family, here are some ideas.

Christmas message to wife:

  • I wanted to wrap my love up this year, and give it to you on this special day, but I couldn’t find a box big enough, so please accept this gift instead. All my love on this special Christmas day!
  • To the most wonderful wife, you have completely changed my life. My wish for you this Holiday Season, is for love and peace to surround you. Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year, My Dear Wife
  • Heaven has sent me an angel from above, to brighten my days and cheer up my life. I still don’t know what I did to deserve her, but I’m thankful to call her my wife. Merry Christmas, My Darling

Christmas message to husband:

  • Santa said you were a good boy this year, and I have to agree. You make my life jingle all the way, I’m as blessed as a woman can be! Happy Christmas, My Love!
  • Starry skies and twinkle bright, you are my sunshine and my light. May you be blessed beyond belief, I know there’s nothing you can’t achieve. All my Love on this Christmas Day and best wishes for a Happy New Year!
  • This Christmas I feel so blessed, to have you by my side. You have brought me happiness beyond belief, in you I can always confide. Take this gift as a token, my love, of my undying devotion as your wife. Merry Christmas, My Wonderful Husband!
  • I hope Santa delivers you a bag full of joy, content, peace, harmony, love and a special sweet kiss from me! Merry Christmas, Beautiful!
  • As our blessed Christmas day is upon us, and our family and friends gather near, I take this time to express my love, you are my Christmas cheer! Have a Happy Christmas, My Dear!
  • May your Christmas be as beautiful, serene and full of joy, as you have brought into my life. Thank you for all the happy years, and the pleasure of being your wife. Merry Christmas, My Husband!

Christmas card messages for family:

Christmas card with personalized photo
Personalized Christmas Card made with MockoFun
  • There is no greater gift this festive season than spending time with family all around the Christmas tree.
  • You’re all so important to us. Stay safe and stay happy this holiday season!
  • To all the people who are dear to me, I wish all of you nothing but the joy and happiness that this Christmas brings!
  • Having family like you is the best Christmas gift there ever could be.
  • At Christmas and always, what a blessing you are.
  • Thinking of you with lots of love at Christmas.
  • Grateful to be blessed with such a wonderful family. Merry Christmas!
  • Gifts of time and love are surely the basic ingredients of a truly merry Christmas.

Christmas message for daughter or son:

  • Merry Christmas! You shine brighter than the star at the top of the tree, daughter. Wishing you a magical holiday season.
  • Merry Christmas Daughter. You are the most wonderful gift we have in our lives. Wishing you a holiday filled with joy & love.
  • From the little girl I remember who used to hide behind the Christmas tree to the strong, beautiful woman you’ve become, I’ve always been proud to call you my daughter.
  • No matter how far apart we are this Christmas, a special son like you is always close in heart.
  • Son you’re definitely on the “nice” list for taking such good care of your entire family.

Funny Christmas Messages for Cards

Funny Christmas Card
Funny Christmas Card made with MockoFun

If you want to send out funny Christmas messages for friends or family, here are a couple message ideas you can use:

  • May your holidays be as lovely as they look on Instagram.
  • The elves are working overtime to prepare presents for you. You’ve been extra nice this year.
  • Christmas is Claus for celebration!
  • Santa ho ho hopes you’ve been good this year.
  • I hope you love the present you told me to buy for you. Merry Xmas!
  • May your gifts be many, and your returns and exchanges be few.
  • I put so much thought into your gift, that I never got around to actually buying it. Merry Christmas, anyway!
  • Yoda caroling: A Merry Christmas, we wish you. A Merry Christmas, we wish you.
  • Dashing, dancing, and prancing until I get blitzened.
  • Wishing you the gifts of the season — Peace, Joy, and Cabernet Sauvignon.
  • That’s the true spirit of Christmas; people being helped by people other than me (Jerry Seinfeld)
  • You know you’re getting old, when Santa starts looking younger

Religious Christmas Card Messages

Religious Christmas Card made online with MockoFun

Christmas is in the first place a celebration of the birth of Christ. So, religious Christmas card messages are probably the most used this time of the year.

So, here are a few religious Christmas card greetings messages you can use:

  • Praise His name for He is a living God, He was born to save us all. Merry Christmas and a blessed Happy New Year!
  • Rejoice in the birth of Our Lord Jesus Christ, He brings love and peace to all mankind. Merry Christmas!
  • Wishing you a Joyous and Blessed Christmas!
  • Merry Christmas! Christ is born, He is the savior, celebrate with gladness!
  • May the Lord send you all the best gifts for this holiday season! Wish you a Merry Christmas!
  • Jesus loves you so much. He came for all of us. Merry Christmas!

Business Christmas Card Messages

Merry Christmas Card made with MockoFun

If you own a business or you have a professional relation with somebody and want to send them a greeting card for Christmas to your clients, your boss or employees, here are a couple of Christmas card messages for businesses:

Christmas message for clients:

  • Wishing you a Happy Holiday and a joyful New Year. Best wishes from your friends at [company name].
  • Season’s greetings from the entire crew at [company name].
  • Cheers to the New Year! Wishing you a Happy Holiday season from the team at [company name].
  • We are so grateful to have clients like you in our lives. Happy New Year from [company name].
  • We hope that [year] has been just as memorable for you, your colleagues and your loved ones. We look forward to working with you in the years to come.

Christmas card message for the boss:

  • Merry Christmas! From my family to yours. Wishing you a lot of happiness and positivity, success and prosperity. May the next year be filled with harmony and things that bring you only joy.
  • You are a special boss and a special person! Wishing you the greatest and the most amazing Christmas time!
  • Christmas trees are inseparable for Christmas. You, dear boss, are inseparable from our team. Happy and unforgettable Christmas time!
  • Wishing you happiness, health and prosperity! Merry Christmas!
  • May happiness and joy come to your home on this special occasion! Have a delightful celebration!
  • The holiday season brings thoughts of joy and gratitude, and there’s no better time to express our thanks and sincere appreciation for your amazing hard work, creativity and dedication.

Christmas card message to employees:

  • At this special time of year we want to take a moment to thank you for your dedication to our company. Merry Christmas!
  • Best wishes for a happy holiday season and our sincere appreciation for your loyalty throughout the year.
  • I am grateful to you for your tremendous efforts and dedication this year. Our business is successful because of you. Wishing you all the best in the coming year.

Conclusion

I hope you found this list of Christmas card messages and Christmas sayings inspiring. Please share this article if you think it’s useful. If you encounter an interesting or funny Christmas card message and would like to share it with me, please drop me a comment and I will add it to the list.

Now you know what to write in a Christmas card.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Credits:

References:

--

--