From Unemployment to Full-Time Blogger: The First 10 Days

Part 2 Growing slowly

Coding Life Mindfully
4 min readJul 8, 2024
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

Hello, aspiring bloggers and digital enthusiasts! I want to share my experiences from the second to the tenth day of my blogging journey. These days were filled with learning, challenges, and significant progress. For insights into how I started this journey, you might want to check out my article on the first day of blogging, “From Unemployment to Full-Time Blogger: The Journey Begins — Day 1”.

This will be a blog series, I encourage you to check out my website to access the original post.

Day 2: Feedback and Refining My Niche

On the second day, I received many views from Reddit, which was incredibly exciting. However, I also got a piece of negative feedback mentioning that my niche was too broad. The commenter felt it was unrealistic to succeed in everything without a clear focus. While initially disheartening, I realized there was truth in their words. I decided to narrow down my niches, focusing on topics I was passionate about and willing to explore deeply.

Day 2 Evening: Technical Concerns

As the evening approached, I started questioning the sustainability of my current setup using index.html files. It became clear that this method would become cumbersome as I created more content. I knew I needed a more efficient system, even if it required a significant investment of time and effort.

Days 3–5: Transitioning to Next.js

On the third day, I applied for Google AdSense again, only to be rejected. I learned that AdSense applications are reviewed by humans, not robots, which opened my eyes to the importance of having a well-structured and compliant website. Realizing my website’s limitations, I decided to switch to Next.js, which was better for SEO and performance. The transition took up my third, fourth, and fifth days as I moved files from Bluehost’s cPanel and set up Next.js. For those interested, I detailed this process in my post “Why I Switched to Next.js for My Blog Website — SEO Friendly”.

Understanding Domain and Hosting Differences

During this period, I encountered issues with cPanel not supporting Node.js, which led me to understand the difference between domain registration and hosting services. As a developer, it was a crucial learning moment. I had been using Bluehost’s WordPress hosting but needed a setup that supported my custom app, which took extra time.

Eventually, I connected my domain to Vercel using DNS, solving my hosting problems after a grueling day. I explain more about these technical details in my guide “How to Integrate Google Analytics and AdSense in a Next.js Project on Vercel”.

Day 6: Exhaustion and Setbacks

By the sixth day, I was exhausted. My initial 1500 views had dwindled to 90. Bluehost’s hosting constraints and my mistakes in domain and hosting setup consumed a lot of time. After moving my domain to Vercel and connecting it properly, I finally resolved the technical issues, although it was a stressful process.

Days 7–10: Learning and Growing

On the seventh day, my article views dropped to zero as my pages were not indexed. Despite the challenges, I felt proud of the code I wrote and the things I learned, such as Markdown and Next.js metadata. During these days, I focused on fixing bugs and improving my site.

My boyfriend’s encouragement also motivated me to keep going and even consider adding a store for handmade items in the future. ❤

I might not document every single day meticulously, but I record videos every 2–3 days to capture the progress and memorable moments, ensuring I don’t forget anything significant.

Reflection on the First 10 Days

Ten days in, I have written 9-10 blog posts and learned an enormous amount. I am proud of myself for not giving up, despite the hurdles. Some of my recent posts include:

Key Learnings

  • Google AdSense: Avoid applying immediately after creating a blog. Ensure your site has essential pages like a privacy policy and terms of service, and consider waiting until you have more than 50 posts.
  • Domain vs. Hosting: Understanding the difference between domain registration and hosting services can save time and headaches. A domain is your website’s address, while hosting is where your website lives.
  • Next.js: Transitioning to Next.js has improved my site’s SEO and performance, making it more sustainable for the future.

Thank you for following my journey. Stay tuned for more updates as I continue to navigate this path towards becoming a full-time blogger. Your support means the world to me!

Warm regards,
Nazli

--

--