Why You Should Not Use Godot 4 Yet

Solomon Richards
2 min readMay 5, 2023

--

I have been using Godot 4 for a while. I know about the good. I know about the bad. My overall review of Godot 4 is positive. But I have one major gripe that prevents me from recommending Godot 4 to a beginner.

It is the lack of Assets!

For this to make sense, I want to explain what Assets are and why they are soo important to Godot.

What Are Assets?

Assets are made by the community and Godot. These assets can be anything from something to help your workflow in Godot to entire projects and scenes of their own.

In the Godot Asset Library, there are a total of 10 types of assets:

2D and 3D Tools, Shaders, Materials, Tools, Scripts, Misc, Templates, Projects, and Demos.

Each of these assets is important in a way. I feel a few are more needed than others. Godot 4 has no shortage of Projects and Demos showcasing its capabilities and graphical muscles. But the 2D and 3D Tools are more important.

Tools

The tools in the Godot engine are your best friend. Godot 3 had an abundance of tools for both 2d and 3d usage. Zylann’s Heightmap Terrain was the tool I would use to make 3d terrains in Godot.

There is no level of detail tool. I would use these to manage the level of detail in scenes and objects. This asset is also not present.

Terrain made in Blender, but Lighting From Godot 4

I have not used Godot 4 as much as I used Godot 3. Since Godot 4 was released, I made it my main game engine. There were major improvements made to Godot 4.

For a beginner, I would say to wait till more extensions and assets are added to Godot 4. A good amount of functionality is missing. You need to know how to use other software to compensate. Otherwise, you’ll be missing that functionality.

--

--

Solomon Richards

I write articles about Godot, some coding, tutorials, and guides.