Coffee. A Jaunt Down Memory Lane

Cody R. White
3 min readApr 17, 2020

--

Coffee. A Jaunt Down Memory Lane. A Brief Story by Cody White

Coffee.

One of society's legal drugs of choice. A friend of many… most of the time. Just a few words on the drink that has transcended cultures and eras. During this time at home, I have been brewing in various ways that I find pleasing, and have enjoyed being able to take the time to enjoy the process.

I enjoy coffee of all varieties, strengths and flavors, and love the way it takes me on a journey down memory lane. A journey to the many great locations and times I have been with such great company, all over the world enjoying a cup of joe. Mountain tops, riversides, city parks, cabin porches, art studios, European back roads, beach sunrises, small-town diners, and family living rooms.

But through all of this, I am humbled that some of my fondest memories that slow me down the most are those involved with the fastest variety of the dark nectar… Instant Coffee. Yes.

My Grandma White in her later years relied on the simplicity and consistency that she grew to love with this coffee. It brings me back to my youth at her dining room table, lace cloth under plastic, with nothing more than a hot cup in hand, with plenty of milk and sugar, and her smile with an endless stream of happiness, perspective and conversation. Conversations that I will never forget and partially pine for, for the rest of my life. Enjoying the sunlight coming in through the window of the lanai and the calm of that time and place. As I write this I realize these cups were possibly some of my first.

At home, my Dad always made his own “blends” with the best beans he could find, but even then I did not drink coffee often. Unless it was at Grandma's house.. something special went along with that coffee. A chance to hurry up and enjoy, to not judge a book by its cover, and to appreciate the small things.

My second real occurrence with the instant variety was years later in life; during a bit of exploration and self-discovery. Another time to appreciate the small things and slow down, and focus on the world around; and enjoy the efficiency that it provides. That time was aboard Seawolf.

Seawolf was the ’82 42-foot Beneteau Sailboat that came into my life and took me North, from the sandy beaches of Costa Rica, past the grand cliffs of Guatemala and into the green, little-known harbor of Chiapas, Mexico. My time aboard that vessel with a small crew of folks, which were all amazing in their own right, is a part of my life I will never forget. Each sip I take today brings me back to saltwater in my hair, perpetual swaying, unfurling the Genoa, watching it fill with wind and take us out onto the slowly rising and falling mammoth Ocean Blue. Images, colors and smells that I can not fully convey. But those of which once you fully embrace them you understand why there are old, “mad” and obsessed sailors in folklore…. That ocean is full of love mystery and pure adventure. The many coffees that we all shared helped me slow down and enjoy the surroundings, which made a mental bookmark that will be in my Memory Museum forever.

I am grateful for the people and places that the often “overlooked instant coffee” has provided me. I will always think back to those moments with fondness, and never take it for granted. Yes, I normally do not reach for your instant, dark, magic crystals when needing my morning boost, but I am glad you’re around and grateful for the time I have now to remember that.

I hope everyone can use this time to slow down and enjoy their favorite cup of coffee, as that cup may last a lot longer than you think.

--

--