COFFEE & CODED Female Founders Series: #5 Chloe Taylor

Coffee & Coded
2 min readAug 17, 2018

--

Chloe Taylor, Founder of Chloe Taylor Tech & Greeneprints Inc.

Meet Chloe Taylor. Chloe Taylor is Co-founder of Greeneprints, Inc, a non-profit organization based in Brooklyn, that develops science inquiry and technology programs for local children. Originally from Pittsburgh, Chloe earned her bachelor’s degree from Carnegie Mellon University, where she developed an interest in innovative teaching practices and creative technology. Grounded in the values of exploration, inquiry and innovation, Greeneprints programs offer rich investigations in science, an introduction to robotics, and foundations of computer science in creative and engaging ways. In 2018, she founded a new business, Chloe Taylor Technology. Through the creation of this company, Chloe is able to work with schools and organizations to build comprehensive STEM programs that will instill a passion, appreciation and an empowering confidence in 21st century learning.

Find out why we’re so inspired by her. Check out her story below.

Fast Facts

Home Base: Brooklyn, New York (Proud Member of The Wing)

Founded: 2013 (Greeneprints, Inc.) and 2018 (Chloe Taylor Tech)

Fav App: Shine Text

Fav Podcast: Chats With Cat

Female Role Model: Reshma Saujani, Founder of Girls Who Code

From Chloe’s Perspective

What’s the Biggest Lesson You Learned in Your First Year of Busness?

“The biggest lesson I learned was how to be deliberate with my time. Now that I have a second [business], I really only go where the energy takes me. It’s so important to demand the money you’re owed for the work that you do. I’m diligent in who I partner with on projects. If I have a hesitancy, I’m not afraid to pass [on a project]. I invest my time and energy into things I really think will give me a good return on my time and investment.”

What’s Your Metric of Success?

“My business relies on word of mouth, so my metric of success is when a client refers me to another client. I love hearing that someone had a great experience working with me. If they trust my work enough to refer to someone else, that means I really delivered.”

What’s Your Advice for New Entrepreneurs?

“My honest advice is to find something that addresses a real need in the community instead of creating a business and then trying to sell it afterward. Create something that solves a real issue. I look to really add a value to women’s lives, children’s lives, etc.”

For more on Chloe Taylor Tech or Greeneprints Inc. visit the Chloe Taylor Tech website and follow her on Instagram.

This feature is a part of the COFFEE & CODED Female Founders series. To learn more about COFFEE & CODED, follow us here on medium or on Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook.

--

--

Coffee & Coded

COFFEE & CODED LLC was founded in 2018 as an educational event series for women and girls interested in learning to code! You bring yourselves, we bring coffee.