My favourite creative workshop warm up

Daily blog #2

Ben Cohen
2 min readNov 2, 2018

This is a great little creative session warm up that has never failed to get the room smiling.

I’ve recently used it in Moscow for a Hackathon I was running at the Red Cross' Eastern European Comms and Fundraising conference (it even worked translated into Russian!), as well as at the British Red Cross' own fundraising conference this year.

Here’s the instructions:

Prep wise, all you need to do is line up some jazzy space music while you run the exercise (Star Wars is my personal fave).

Then ask everyone to:

1. Shut your eyes. Imagine you’re standing in a big open field beneath a blue sky. In 3 seconds, I’m going to start playing down music and you’re going to blast around the moon. 3-2-1-Blastoff!

2. Spend 15 seconds and imagine yourself blasting around the moon.

3. Now land back on earth.

Now ask everyone a few questions about their experience:

1. Did you wear a spacesuit?

2. Did you have your hands up like superman or superwoman?

3. Did you land on the moon?

4. Did you meet any aliens?

--

--

Ben Cohen

Heading up Fundraising Innovation @britishredcross. All views my own.