How I Went From a Depressed College Dropout to a Software Engineer

Jordan Coin Jackson
10 min readAug 13, 2019

Life is a struggle. To happiness, to expression, to love. I’ve had my struggles too. Depression is the struggle I went through.

My alarm kept going over. BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP. I hated that noise. But I wouldn’t dare get out of bed.

I remember when I was 14 and my great aunt passed away and it hit me like a ton of bricks. A feeling of hopelessness began, and school, my family situation, and being a weird kid who only stayed awake in class to watch history documentaries. All I wanted was to find an isolated corner in the world and live in it. I was raised as an only child and my father was in and out of my life until I was 10. Coding was far from my mind, I was wrapped in my own life and my own pain. It took time to recognize the potential within myself, that I could do anything I wanted.

But it wasn’t that clear, and my potential wasn’t something high at all. We all have defining moments in life that you try to escape from because of the pain. It’s always sharp when you think of it and it’s a battle to get through. I didn’t know as a kid how to really deal with it, and my experiences through it helped craft me today. But in college? They weren’t going well.

Running Without Purpose

--

--

Jordan Coin Jackson

Entrepreneur, software developer at Quicken Loans, writer & internet junkie looking to build products that can help change the world.