Colin Robertson
1 min readAug 26, 2016

--

The author is absolutely right calling “white flight” racism. But, I get it. It’s not so much about hate as it is aversion to change. I’m presently working in city in Southern California that’s (relatively newly) highly populated by Asian groups and it sometimes feels like I’m not even in America. Lot’s of folks don’t speak English, there’s lots of smokers, and there are a TON of “weird” Asian businesses. It’s just different. I tell myself that it’ll be normal in 20 years when these people grasp American culture and adopt English as their primary language…

If I’m being totally honest, I don’t know how I would feel if it were like this where I lived. Perhaps I should visit some of these countries and try and gain some perspective and appreciation of their culture.

--

--