The Rise of College Alternatives

A Collection of the Best Alternatives to Traditional Universities

Colin Keeley
5 min readMar 29, 2019

I spent four years at Macalester College getting my liberal arts undergrad degree and two years at The University of Chicago getting my MBA.

Did I learn a lot? Yes

Was it relevant to the work I do today? Somewhat

Was it wildly expensive? Absolutely

Are there cheaper and faster routes to good jobs today? 100%

There are a rapidly expanding number of alternatives to traditional college.

Student debt in the U.S. has reached record levels, putting traditional higher education out of reach for many people.

Vocational training with lower costs and a more clear cut path from skills development to a good-paying job is on the rise.

I loved my liberal arts education, but learning Chinese art history isn’t really necessary for most jobs.

Income Share Agreement: A Better Financing

Many of these college alternatives are offering $0 upfront cost in exchange for an income share agreements(ISA) on the backend.

ISAs provide a “financial structure in which an individual or organization provides something of value (often a…

--

--