Colin Thomson
3 min readOct 22, 2019

--

How can someone make sense of Matthew 25? My friend’s neighbor’s 17-year-old son was asking me for opinions about this story and I cannot figure out an approach.

Colin Thomson, Author at Bellpoint Limited (1990-present)

Answered just now

Matthew 25

This chapter continues and concludes our Saviour’s communication, which began in the previous chapter, concerning his second coming and the end of the world.

This was his farewell sermon of caution, as was:

John 14:15–16 King James Version

15 If ye love me, keep my commandments.

16 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;

of comfort to his disciples; and they had need of both in a world of so much temptation and trouble as this is.

The application of the communication was therefore watch and be ready. Now, in the charge of these serious awakening cautions from our Lord Jesus Christ in this chapter we have three parables.

The scope of both cautions is the same. To make alive us all with the utmost care and diligence to get ready for Christ’s second coming. In all his farewells to his church, mention was made of, as before he died: John 14:2 King James Version

--

--

Colin Thomson

I am an author of Biblical books that offer afresh and new perspective. I am not attached to any church or any organisation. I have a blog: www.cosmoswisdom.com