Last of a Dying Breed?

--

A person of gentleness and strength that does not walk away from love

This June, I saw Fallout Boy at Wrigley Field. I wasn’t familiar with them, but I love seeing concerts at Wrigley. So I made a playlist of some of their songs, listened to them for three days straight, then headed to the show with some friends.

The weather was perfect. The crowd knew all the songs. It was a big sing-along. We had a great time.

After the concert, I found myself thinking about one of the lyrics in their song “The Last of the Real Ones.” I went hunting to find out what the song was about. I learned it’s a love song.

In it, the singer says he is in love with “the last of the real ones” who he describes as “a person of gentleness and strength that does not walk away from love”.

He sees himself and the person he is in love with as “the last of a dying breed.”

Are people who do not walk away from love and relationships, the last of dying breed?

“Dopamine Nation” author, Dr. Anna Lembke might agree. She is a world-leading expert on addiction. She thinks many of us would rather have a relationship with our smartphone than another person. She implores us to change how we use technology. She explains that addiction is a spectrum disorder, many of us are partially addicted to our smartphones and it’s hurting our relationships with humans and our health.

Our Smartphones want all our attention and they know how to get it

The Problem

We are easily trapped by the infinite supply of digital hits of pleasure from apps on our smart phone and on-demand television entertainment like Netflix.

Unlike my bag of dark chocolate covered pretzels from Trader Joes, my Netflix feed is bottomless.

The time suck of activities like Netflix bingeing, TikTok, eShopping and Online gambling, rob us of the longer lasting pleasure that comes from relationships with people where

  • We are provided comfort
  • We are challenged
  • Where we grow and achieve

After I have binged, I feel lazy. To shake off the lethargy, I try to make myself do something active like ride my bike to Lake Michigan and jump in. (When I can convince a friend to join me, it’s twice as sweet.)

When I get too sedentary,
I warmly demand myself to go jump in Lake Michigan

Warm Demanders Needed

In the workplace, we need leaders with social skills who can form warm relationships, plus have the strength to push their team members and colleagues to grow and do the right thing even when it is inconvenient or not popular.

Educators call these people Warm Demanders. I call them awesome and I DON’T WANT THEM TO BE PART OF A DYING BREED!

Reach out to me for help with making your culture a place where Warm Demanders can thrive.

P.S. Read more about Dr. Anna Lembke and technology addiction in this great article by Jamie Waters.

About me: I am passionate about getting the workplace culture right. I know that cold hard facts combined with compassion is what is needed to motivate individuals to do the hard work that change requires. I help leaders determine what they need to do to modernize their culture and workplace to make it smart, safe and inspiring. I also train people leaders to role model and inspire development of In Real Life business skills that promote camaraderie, relational equity, innovation and belonging.

Here are related stories for leaders. Download or order your copy of my book Disconnected for more practical ideas for how to deliver realness, meaning and belonging to your youngest workers. Visit www.colleenmcfarland.us for more information.

--

--