How to Avoid the Perils of Being Overly Organized

Yes, there is such a thing, and it could be keeping you from reaching your goals

Colleen Valles
4 min readDec 14, 2017
Photo by Sanwal Deen on Unsplash

Lately, I've been finding myself feeling overwhelmed by all the stuff I have to do.

I know that's the case because I get antsy when that happens. I'll be sitting at work, unable to concentrate on what I should be doing because I can't stop thinking about all the things I feel I must do, but that I won't have time to do because I have to do them around work hours. Then I start to resent work, which is a whole other story.

When I start to feel like this, I do what any self-respecting planner and organizing system junkie does.

I make lists.

I make lots of lists. To-do lists, shopping lists, packing lists — you name it, I've listed it.

I make lists on the computer and on paper. And then I organize them. I will make one list a bunch of different ways to ensure I don't mss what's on it. Some ways to organize your lists, in case you're interested:

  • according to GTD contexts;
  • according to store;
  • according to type of shopping (grocery, gift, home items, for instance); and
  • according to shortest geographical distance and most logical route between work and home.

Pretty much any way you can think of except alphabetical.

I'll write appointments down on my paper calendar in the kitchen, and in the one in my purse, and i'll type them into my electronic calendar so I can get a reminder.

By the end of the day, I've made a zillion lists. I'm up to my eyeballs in organization.

And yet, I'm no closer to achieving my goals.

I may have made lists, but chances are, I haven't executed any of the things on them.

I know I'm not alone in this too. I know that spending too much time organizing is essentially a form of procrastination, and I'm not the world's only procrastinator.

So here's how I try to deal with this when it comes up.

Pick a system and stick to it

Figure out what organizing system works for you. I'm a fan of analog, but some people swear by keeping all their to-dos on the computer.

Fine. Use whatever floats your boat. The point is, you want one simple system for keeping on top of all the things you have to do. I use Ryder Carroll's bullet journal system in combination with David Allen's Getting Things Done. It works for me. Find what works for you.

Know your triggers

Mine is when I haven't kept on top of things and what I have to do is piling up on top of my regular work. I start to panic and go into organizing mode. What sets you off?

Don't worry about being perfect

I tend to put things off when I know I'm not going to immediately execute them perfectly.

Take Spanish, for instance. If I had practiced and not let my less-than-perfect grammar and vocabulary stop me from speaking, I would be, if not fluent, at least more than just conversant.

I let my perfectionism get in the way of bettering my Spanish, and it gets in the way when I'm making my dozens of lists. I try to find different methods to work for me, but I wind up spending all my time on list-making instead of crossing things off my list so I can have a shorter, less-overwhelming list.

Take a deep breath and let it go

Somehow, the world keeps turning. In it, people are making mistakes and getting things right. They're planning and organizing and executing. They really are Getting Things Done, not just reading about it and making all different kinds of lists that get them nowhere.

Eventually, you have to do the things on your list and not just write them down. If you have to do a little bit of searching to find something that works for you, by all means, go ahead. But when you find it, use it for what it is — a tool to help you get your work done.

And try to keep yourself to one list.

Thanks for reading! If you liked this article, please clap so others can see it.

If you’re interested in simplifying your life but don’t know where to start, I’d love to send you my FREE 7-day challenge to get you going down the simple-living path. Sign up below to get one e-mail a day for the next seven days with activities to help you start living simply.

--

--

Colleen Valles

Helping businesses tell their stories of sustainability & resilience. Freelance writer. Fiction, fountain pens, and fancy tea cups. www.colleenvalles.com