Unit 2 Topic Reflection

Jacqueline Collie
1 min readApr 2, 2019

--

This week I learned about the magnitude to which a college student has information privilege. As a current Senior in college, I have very much taken for granted the amount of information and resources available to me. Furthermore, I never truly thought about the cost of subscribing to certain databases, journal article companies, etc.

Moving forward on my final research project, I really want to utilize all the possible information around me. Previously I have tended to find enough resources to complete papers or projects sufficiently. However, during my research process for the final project if I come across a question that sparks my interest, even if it is not pertinent to my topic, I want to take the time to answer that question and fuel my educational curiosity.

This week I have also enjoyed making connections from previous readings, specifically the one about the grading system, with this weeks readings. I feel as though information privilege and how students strive for certain grades are very much correlated. I wonder if eliminating grades would help with the issue of information privilege in the fact that students may actually continue to explore their research topics after the completion of a class.

I look forward to what next week brings and hope to continue making connections.

--

--

Jacqueline Collie

Hi my name is Jacqueline and I am current senior at Wake Forest University.