Life Goes On — Tupac

Sometimes in life we lose friends along the way

Nicole Dake
3 min readMar 15, 2022

--

Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

When I was in high school, a couple of my friends had this bet going on whether or not my boyfriend at the time and I would live to be 20.

Spoiler: We did.

In retrospect, even though I was living wild and fast back then, the whole thing probably spoke volumes about our friendship. After high school, I moved away, and I didn’t see any of them until years later.

One of my high school friends died young, in her 30’s, very unexpectedly. Her funeral was by far the saddest funeral that I had ever gone to. Everyone had gone to do shots at the bar across the street right before.

During the eulogy, her best friend started ugly crying.

Something I remember her saying about our friend who had passed was, “There wasn’t a day that went by that we weren’t essential in each other’s lives.” For some reason that stuck with me.

After the funeral, I went home, sat on my patio listening to Tupac’s “Life Goes On” and crying for the friend that I had lost.

How many brothers fell victim to the streets?
Rest in peace, young nigga, there’s a heaven for a G
Be a lie If I told you that I never thought of death
My niggas, we the last ones left, but life goes on
How many brothers…

--

--