Behind the Scenes: in Conversation with Bo Bay Park

Chloe C
6 min readMay 9, 2022

--

the model & dancer discusses treasures, trials, and trying to remodel patterns of discrimination and hate.

The COVID-19 pandemic was, and in some ways still is, an isolating period of history. A period which stripped communities of their ability to come together in the same ways that they once did without much thought. It was October of 2020 when I moved to a new building in Crown Heights, Brooklyn. My building attracted me, primarily because of its beautiful architecture and its close proximity to Prospect Park. However, what made me renew the lease was not the park, or the washer-dryer in the unit, or anything material at all. It was because of the people. People I encountered, even ever so briefly. I encountered people most often living alone during the pandemic through observation.

These observations intrigued me. I saw my community change throughout the stages of the pandemic. In May of 2020, I saw residents move into a phase of brief outdoor conversation once vaccines started to roll out for most populations. I had been vaccinated in February, as I am considered immune-compromised, however, I patiently waited to see the vaccine option open up for the rest of the people around me, and that patience paid off. As the world started to bustle with excitement of reopening, I had the opportunity to engage with the residents that I so curiously observed for months and months. Eventually those conversations with residents progressed indoors.

One of those residents was Bo Bay Park. She is tall, and confident, and always wearing a beaming smile. Those were some of the first things I noticed about Bo Bay, but at first, I didn’t even realize she lived in my building. Whenever I came across her, she was dancing on the subway platform in a style called Waacking, which I found to be amazing to watch. Equally as amazing, was her confidence while doing so. She would move with finesse, always smiling, never caring about the stares, or the confused looks by some. Her hair flying in different directions with the speed of a passing train, she danced on, and radiated positivity by doing so.

I decided to interview Bo Bay, after striking up a conversation with her in the lobby of my building, trying to hide my excitement that the woman I had seen so often around town in fact, lived in my building. At first, we talked about cats, and how I had 2, and she had 1 back home. Eventually, we swapped the basic information — name, age, occupation, how long we’ve lived in the city, etc.

“I’m a model actually!” She said it in a humble tone, beaming as usual, and I felt like I had one more piece of the puzzle that was the entertaining and mysterious Bo Bay. It was then that I decided to turn on my camera, and asked if she would be willing to be interviewed. I had initially anticipated learning about her career goals, motivations, and aspirations, but I ended up learning more about racial issues, and her perseverance than I had initially planned. The result is an incredible look at the life of the ever joyous model and dancer, who’s radiant positivity beams even on video, as well as on the page.

A quick Google search of her name reveals her modeling portfolios, one of which provides this description:

“Bo Bay, which means “treasure” in Korean, was born in Killeen, Texas. She’s passionate about supporting her community and strives to be an inspiration to other Asian Americans to follow their dreams. She is a dancer, a cat-mom, and a former financial consultant.”

What a Google search doesn’t show us about Bo Bay, is her incredible journey. What her portfolio encapsulates isn’t just photos, but a need, from her personal experience, where the industry can to continue to grow and change. And she is helping inspire just that.

Watch the interview for a look into the power of trusting yourself, and questioning societal systems

After speaking with Bo Bay, I learned more about the modeling industry, and I also learned about her ability to take a leap of faith and switch career paths from finance to modeling. I found it inspiring how the power of one comment from her former dance student of “You should model” sparked an entire life change for her. Bo Bay moved to Brooklyn a year ago, but she seems to already have the city life figured out. She has no issue being the girl dancing on the subway platform, and she feels at home here. Bo Bay also seems to have a strong mindset when it comes to following her passions, and handling the day-to-day lifestyle that comes with freelance work, saying

“I look forward to the opportunities that do come, and then for the things that aren’t in my control I just do my best with what I can control.”

Although not all of us can relate to her job, I feel we can learn from this sentiment in a broad sense, and that by releasing control of situations that feel uncertain, that it makes space for joy and peace. Both of these things Bo Bay seems to radiate, and it was quickly noticeable in our time together.

As we transitioned into a discussion about what modeling needed more and less of, we dove into the commentary she has received as a Korean-American talent, and it shed light on systemic issues within agencies, and how much progress needs to be made in diversifying modeling, as well as a conversation on whether or not the progress so far is genuine, or a result of being pressured to be diverse. As we loop this conversation into the experience that Bo Bay had; being told by a potential agency

“We already have too many Asian girls on our board” they told her.

Bo Bay had this to say as a response,

“So that’s what — despite maybe on media and things they’re saying ‘Yeah we’re being more diverse — I think there’s always room for improvement, because I’m still getting answers like this, and this was two days ago.”

There is no question that discrimination and racism are truly massive issues within society towards the AAPI community. Just this year, and close to home, the world grieved the loss and senseless murder of Michelle Go, who was pushed onto the tracks of a Manhattan subway station, resulting in her death. The rise in hate crimes against AAPI people has skyrocketed, particularly since 2020, and it is a devastating truth that this hate bleeds into discrimination in the workplace. Bo Bay then raised the question of whether or not the need to diversify has been respected by these agencies, or if these agencies are diversifying from a pressure to do so from the people who speak against it.

We cannot neglect the grace with which Bo Bay speaks. We cannot neglect her passion for her career, or her skills. We also cannot neglect the improvements that need to be made.

It was my pleasure to speak to Bo Bay, and I admire her ability to be so open with me in having these discussions. It was my luck that I noticed her in my community, and I do not take it for granted. I am excited and certain that she has a future filled with success and connection, as I certainly enjoyed connecting with her.

Please find the following links for resources , initiatives, and to donate to stopping AAPI hate.

--

--