An Open Letter to Jenn Smith, Pt. 4

Concerned Islander
4 min readMay 15, 2019

--

Dear Jenn,

It feels like just yesterday that I wrote my very first letter to you. Time really does fly. These two weeks have just been so special for me, and probably for you too!

By the time you have read this my blog has been read over 2200 times. Just to remind you, I created my blog just two weeks ago. Since the creation of my blog, you have given me a lot of things to ponder and write about.

In case you haven’t read everything that I have talked about thus far, let me just catch you up!

An Open Letter to Jenn Smith
Dear Jenn, I’m sorry…
An Open Letter to Jenn Smith Pt. 2
An Open Letter to Jenn Smith Pt. 3
Don’t Get Rid of Your Proof of Jenn Smith’s Bigotry
On the Protection of Women’s Spaces

Since you’ve been in facebook jail while you got your 15 minutes of fame, people have taken to your profile to call you out and one particular reader shared my open letter to you. This was your response:

I’m impressed that two weeks later, I still seem to have some kind of affect on you. I thought that perhaps you were finished being disgruntled about my letters but I was wrong.

Since we are no longer acquainted on Facebook, I am left to respond here in this public forum.

When you say, “This article was written by somebody that repeatedly quoted me out of context.” You will have to point to where I did that, so I can either clarify or apologize for my mistep. However, I think it is impossible for me to have misquoted you, as I specifically quoted your words. You said them, not me.

You write, “This person is academically dishonest and defers to experts I that I have said cannot be trusted when they have big pharma connections.”

I think the first thing we’ll have to tackle is my academic dishonesty… I would like to think that if I were academically dishonest, someone else in my eight years of university would have clued in. If you really feel that way, I will add it to the list of things you allege I am, including: an idiot, twit, nitwit, snowflake, Big Pharma apologist, academically dishonest. My ability to multitask must be off the chain, particularly if I’m intellectually challenged (DSM citation, please?).

The second thing we should discuss is the notion that I defer to experts that cannot be trusted when they have big pharma connections. I believe, Jenn… this would be an instance where you have absolutely misquoted and mischaracterized me. In our interactions, I don’t believe you will be able to point a single instance where I have suggested that we should listen to a specific person with ties to “BIG PHARMA ™” or a specific person at all. The only thing that I have said is that there are many people (many people without ties to Big Pharma) who are much more credible than you.

I should probably take the time to apologize to you, Jenn. I didn’t realize that my prose was so unbearable. Allow me to explain why your logic is flawed in the form of pictures.

In one of my previous letters to you, we outlined why correlation is not causation and the definition of comorbidity. Specifically, we used these examples:

In your defence, Jenn, my ability to create infographics is seriously lacking. So, I cited these from elsewhere but we haven’t really outlined why your logic is flawed specifically… So, here it is.

Welcome to Concerned Islander’s Ratchet Digital Designs, where we explain how and why Jenn Smith’s logic is completely flawed.

It would be a fair statement to make that a teacher or the school system has three main jobs. 1. To teach students (some students may be LGBTQ2+) 2. To teach subjects (like math) 3. To create safe and welcoming classroom environments (Could use resources such as SOGI 123).
An unfair statement would be to say that SOGI 123 creates LGBTQ2+ students.
As you previously pointed out, you are interested in comorbidity. The definition of comorbidity is to have two or more conditions happening at the same time. Let’s look at this “Person.” This person experiences gender dysphoria, autism and (just for fun) has an ingrown toenail. It would be a fair statement to say that this person experiences these three conditions as the same time.
It would be ridiculous to claim that their ingrown toenail caused their gender dysphoria.
Similarly, it would be ridiculous to say that someone having autism made them more susceptible to be influenced by SOGI 123 and caused their gender dysphoria.

Correlation does not mean causation. Period.

I hope this clears up any misconceptions you have about my position, and psychology in general.

Sincerely,

A Concerned Islander

--

--