Yasiin Bey AKA Mos Def — Review by ConcertKash

Concert Kash
1 min readMay 3, 2019

--

Last time Mos Def was in Chicago, I was at a Childish Gambino Show. So this time, I drove through the blizzard to make sure I could be there. It was nice to see the Hip-Hop Legend in action. Despite his late arrival, the show was a great if you appreciate hip-hop. He started out the show saying he has seniority on stage and will only perform the records he desires. While this seems arrogant, this not the first time I’ve seen an artist do that.

He still went through a long setlist that eventually satisfied everyone in the crowd. For me the highlight is when he played a mash-up of Ms. Fat Booty with Kanye West’s Devil in a Dress. Being such a huge Kanye fan, it was an amazing moment. I still can’t over how creatively that was done. Sound and lighting were pretty average for the venue. If you are a fan of old school hip-hop, you don’t want to miss Mos Def perform. I wouldn’t be surprised if I make another Mos Def post in the next year or so.

Originally published at https://auxcordmusic.com on May 3, 2019.

--

--

Concert Kash
0 Followers

Your favorite concert junkie bringing you concise unbiased reviews and analysis of live music