Preliminary Idea Evaluation

Ally Condon
8 min readNov 13, 2019

Market Survey

To get the proper feedback on my top 10 ideas for the tape measure, I created a google form and sent it out to users. I formatted the survey with each idea sketch displayed, and asked the respondents, “What do you think of this idea?”, “Would you use this? Could you see anyone you know using this? Check all that apply”, and, “Could you see yourself buying this? If so, how much would you pay?”.

Link to survey:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSedyMAS6rjXdiQcNvtcs4NdtLU9T6SeEt5pPIPWD-lRSBfGGQ/viewform?usp=sf_link

Benchmarking

I selected the top 5 ideas based on the products that had the most “I would use this” AND “I could see someone I know using this” answers.

Top 5 Ideas after Survey

  • “Soft Close” Retractable Technology
  • Easy Remember Tape Measure
  • At Home Door Measure
  • XMAS Lights Measuring App
  • Moveable End Hook

The first 2x2 I created was for benchmarking product ideas for my “Soft Close Retractable Technology” idea. Since I couldn’t find any products on the market that slow down at a certain point when retracting, I decided to make my criteria for the graph speed and safety. That way I could include different style tape measures like the surveyor and pocket tape measure. I found one “in between” option that uses something called a drag strip. There is a hole underneath the tape measure for the user to press down on in order to slow down the speed of retraction. Most pocket tape measures have automatic retraction that can be quite fast and dangerous, and the manual surveyor tapes take long to wind up. Therefore, this market is saturated. If the technology behind my product idea is possible, I think it would be safer and preferred over the Lufkin Drag Strip product, but this would be a challenge.

On this 2x2 I benchmarked my “Easy Remember Tape Measure” idea to other tape measures with a display/memory system. The criteria I plotted was based on the cost and tape mobility. At first I only found this product with metal tape. Since my idea uses fabric tape for users who make body measurements, I thought, “Perfect! Less competition!”. That is, until I searched Amazon and found a brand that uses fabric tape (although I’m not sure how legitimate these products are considering there was a spelling error in the product name). However, these two fabric tape measures ranged from $20 to $30. This seems like a lot when compared to a basic fabric tape measure used for body measurements, which are anywhere from $2 to $8. This information tells me I have an opportunity to create my “Easy Remember Tape Measure” as long as it is in a more affordable way. Perhaps making the plastic housing and display area smaller/less bulky?

This 2x2 shows my benchmarks for the “At Home Door Measure Idea”. The criteria I chose was level of novelty and cost. Unfortunately I found a product that does exactly what I wanted my idea to do (The magnetic giraffe one). The only feature it’s missing is that it’s not removable, like I wanted my product to be. This graph taught me that competition in this market is tight. There are a variety of materials, hanging methods and prices for kid growth charts. I would have to combine the aesthetic of the Pottery Barn growth chart with the novel features of the Magnetic Giraffe Wall Decal at a low price in order to differentiate my product.

This next 2x2 benchmarks products similar to the “XMAS Lights Measuring App”. Again, cost was one of the metrics, as well as the level of customization. I choose this because I couldn’t find any competitors with apps who had specific uses like measuring a house for christmas lights. With my app idea, I want a business that sells christmas lights to be incorporated into the process, so when the number of strands are recommended, the user also knows where to buy and how much it will cost. The feedback I got from the survey revealed that most people would want the app to be free. Looking at the graph, it is apparent that I have opportunity in the market to achieve this. My only concern is that this level of technology might never be quality at a free cost.

Lastly, this 2x2 benchmarks ideas for my “Moveable End Hook” idea. The criteria used to plot each product was the amount of end hook features and cost. I found tape measures with dual ended hooks, but this doesn’t solve the issue of hooks getting caught on objects when retracting(my product idea can be flattened). I know magnetic end hooks are becoming more popular, but some of the reviews complained about the magnet being too strong,thus attaching to all of their items in their tool box. I wasn’t able to find any adjustable end hooks which gives me hope that my product idea could survive this market.

Patent Search

Although my “Easy Remember Tape Measure” idea uses voice command, I found a lot of digital tape measures with memory devices. The patent I found in regards to this is by Jack Waikas in 1986. Here is the link:

Another patent I found relates to my “XMAS Lights Measuring App”. This patent is by Maurice Garcia in 2012. The invention is around image based measuring tools, however, there are 6 classifications and I’m not sure if the app I want to create violates anything.

Overall, patents are really complex and I have to admit that some of the language goes right over my head.

Concerns

“Soft Close” Retractable Technology: I didn’t find anything on the market that uses fast to slow retraction technology. I’m concerned that this means it isn’t possible to make.

Easy Remember Tape Measure: I’m not sure if voice command or the digital tape measure memory device would be quicker. If it turns out that voice command is possible, I’m concerned I wouldn’t be able to house all of the electronics in smaller/less bulkier case than the products that already exist, while also making it inexpensive.

At Home Door Measure: I’m concerned that the market is too saturated with similar ideas.

XMAS Lights Measuring App: Since all of the other image measuring apps cost money, I’m not sure how I could make mine free. Also, the patent for this idea confuses me.

Moveable End Hook: I think this is a great simple idea, but again, I have a slight concern that if no one has invented it by now there might be a reason. Also, I’m not sure how I could make the end piece adjustable without getting too bulky.

Pugh Chart

Based off of the results from my Pugh chart, the top 2 ideas are the XMAS Lights Measuring App and the Moveable End Hook. Since it was a tie, I looked back at my survey from this week to see which one users preferred. This is the data I found:

XMAS Lights Measuring App

Would Use This: 7

Would Not Use This: 5

Could See Someone They Know Using This: 8

Moveable End Hook

Would Use This: 9

Would Not Use This: 3

Could See Someone They Know Using This: 5

Since more people would use the “Moveable End Hook” personally, I chose that idea as my final! Even though the total number of responses for the “XMAS Lights Measuring App” was higher (because it was a “check all that apply” style question), the number of people who would use the product was still higher for the “Moveable End Hook” idea.

Final Idea: Double Sided Tape Measure with Moveable End Hook

Sketch Model

Double Sided Tape Measure with Moveable End Hook

Pretend this is a pocket tape measure with steel blades! A fabric tape measure was the only one I had access to that could be tinkered with. Below, you will see images of the “end hook” in it’s 3 different positions: upwards, flat and downwards. For the end hook material I used pieces of cardboard and tape. In real life, I would need a metal piece that somehow locks into place.

Feedback

I asked my roommate to measuring the outside and inside of objects. She commented on the sketch model being a little “janky”, but ultimately she was able to get accurate measurements. She agreed that the end hook would have to be lockable in the future.

End Hood Positioned Upwards
End Hook Positioned Downwards

TimeLine

11/15: Collect survey results. From this, decide on top 5 ideas. Benchmark these ideas by creating 2x2 tables that include at least 3 existing products in each. Therefore, there should be 5 2x2 tables in the end.

11/16: Do a patent search on top 5 ideas. Describe the most relevant patent and provide URL link on blog along with an image. Then, describe concerns for each of the 5 ideas.

11/17: Create a Pugh chart based on research in order to select the final idea.

11/18: Create a sketch model of final idea and include images on blog. Use model to receive feedback from at least one potential user. Document results in text and images.

11/20: Blog Due

11/22: Peer Reviews Due

--

--