HealthConnect Patient Appointment System

congo migue
6 min readNov 22, 2023

--

Hello, I am Congo Justus, and I am one of the software engineers who worked on the HealthConnect Patient Appointment System. I will share some key elements of our project, including its purpose, team members, timeline, target audience, and my personal focus.

Purpose

The HealthConnect Patient Appointment System is a web application designed to improve patient appointment scheduling and management in hospitals. Our goal was to create a system that would be easy to use for both patients and hospital staff, while also providing a high level of security and privacy.

Team Members and Timeline

Our team consisted of 2 software engineers: Sosthene and myself. We started working on the project on October 20th and delivered the final product on November 21st, 2023. During this time, we used an agile development methodology, with daily stand-up meetings and weekly sprint reviews

Target Audience

Our project was created for hospitals and healthcare providers who need reliable and secure system for managing patient appointments. We believe that our system can help reduce wait times, improve patient satisfaction, and increase efficiency in hospital operations.

Persoal Focus

As a backend engineer, my focus was on developing the core algorithms and database management for the system. Specifically, I worked on the appointment schedyling algorithm, which uses a priority queue to schedule appointments based on urgency. I also implemented Redis for cachng and Docker for containerization

Technology & Architecture

The HealthConnect Patient Appointment System is a web application bult using the Django framework. The system allows patients to schedule appointments with doctors and healthcare providers, while also providing a high level of security and privacy.

Heres a diagram of the system architecture:

HealthConnect Patient Appointment System

Hello, I am Congo Justus, and I am one of the software engineers who worked on the HealthConnect Patient Appointment System. I will share some key elements of our project, including its purpose, team members, timeline, target audience, and my personal focus.

Purpose

The HealthConnect Patient Appointment System is a web application designed to improve patient appointment scheduling and management in hospitals. Our goal was to create a system that would be easy to use for both patients and hospital staff, while also providing a high level of security and privacy.

Team Members and Timeline

Our team consisted of 2 software engineers: Sosthene and myself. We started working on the project on October 20th and delivered the final product on November 21st, 2023. During this time, we used an agile development methodology, with daily stand-up meetings and weekly sprint reviews

Target Audience

Our project was created for hospitals and healthcare providers who need reliable and secure system for managing patient appointments. We believe that our system can help reduce wait times, improve patient satisfaction, and increase efficiency in hospital operations.

Persoal Focus

As a backend engineer, my focus was on developing the core algorithms and database management for the system. Specifically, I worked on the appointment schedyling algorithm, which uses a priority queue to schedule appointments based on urgency. I also implemented Redis for cachng and Docker for containerization

Technology & Architecture

The HealthConnect Patient Appointment System is a web application bult using the Django framework. The system allows patients to schedule appointments with doctors and healthcare providers, while also providing a high level of security and privacy.

Heres a diagram of the system architecture:

System Architecture

The flow of data through the system is as follows:

  1. The user interacts with the web browser to access the HealthConnect Website.
  2. The web browser sends a request to the web server.
  3. The web server processes the request and sends it to the application server.
  4. The application server processes the request and sends a response back to the web server.
  5. The web server sends the response back to the web browser

We choise to use Django for the backend because it is a powerful and flexible framework that allows us to build complex web applications quickly and easily. We also used Redis for caching and Docker for containerzation.

For the frontend, we chose to use HTML, Bootstrap (CSS framework) and Javascript without any additional frameworks. We opted not to use other frameworks because we wanted to dedicate our time to solidifying our understanding of Javascript.

Here are some of the features we completed:

  1. Appointment scheduling algorithm: We developed an algorithm that uses a priority queue to schedule appointments based on urgency.
  2. User authentication: We implemented a secure login system that requires users to enter their username and password.
  3. Data privacy and secutity: We ensured that all patient data is encrypted and stored securely.

Technical Take Aways.

One of the biggest technical take-aways from this project was the importance of good documentation. We found that we took the time to document our code and processes, it was much easier to collaborate and troubleshoot issues. We also learned that it’s importnat to stay up-to-date with the latest technologies and frameworks, as this can help us build better and more efficiency systems.

What I Might Do Differently

Looking back on the project, there are a few things that I might do differently. For example, I would spend more time on user testing and feedback to ensure that our system is easy to yse and meets the needs of out target audience. I would also try to be more proactive about identifying and addressing potential issues before they become major problems.

What I Learned About Myself as an Engineer

Through this project, I learned that I am capable of working under pressure and delivering high quality work on a tight deadline. I also discovered that I enjoy working on complex problems that require creative solutions. Finally, I learned that I am a strong communicator and collaborator, and that I work well in a team environment.

How This Project Informs My Engineering Path in the Future

This project has given me a deeper appreciationfor the importance of good software engineering practives, such as documentation, testing and collaboration. It has also helpted me develop a better understanding of the healthcare industry and the unique challenges that it faces. Moving forward, I plan to continue working on projects that have a positive impact on people’s lives and that allow me to use my skills to make a difference.

Confirming or Questioning Beliefs

Before starting this project, I believed that building a web applciation would be a straightforwardprocess that would be relatively easy to complete. However, I quickly realized that there are many complexities involved in building a system that is both secure and easy to use. I also discovered that there are many different technologies and frameworks to choose from, each with its own strengths and weaknesses.

Conclusion

Overall, I am proud of what our team was able to accomplish with the HealthConnect Patient Appointment System. We believe that our system can make a real difference in the lives of patients and healthcare providers, and we look forward to seeing it in action.

Through this project, I learned a lot about myself as an engineer and about the healthcare industry. I also develo[ed a deeper appreciation for the importance of good software engineering practices and the need to stay up-to-date with the katest technologies and frameworks.

Moving forward, I plan to continue working on projects that have a positive impact on people’s lives and that allow me to use my skills to make a difference. I am excited to see what the future holds and to continue learning and growing as an engineer.

About Me

I am a software engineering student aspiting to be a full-stack engineer. I am currently up-levelling my skills with ALx Africa, where I am learning about the latest technolofies and best practices in software engineering. I am passionate about using technology to solve real-world problems and make a positive impact on people’s lives. I am excited to continue learning and growing as an engineer, and I look forward to the opportunities that lie ahead.

I hope this blog post provides a good overview of our project and what we accomplished. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to reach out to me. Thank you for reading

links:

  1. Github project mentioned link: https://github.com/CJ-The-Black-Child/HealthConnect.git
  2. Deployed project link and landing page : congomigue.pythonanywhere.com
  1. My linkedIn profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/congo-migue-405070b0?utm_source=share&utm_campaign=share_via&utm_content=profile&utm_medium=android_app

--

--