MOVIES | RELATIONSHIPS | LOVE STORY

Out of Africa

My favorite movie of all time

Conni Walkup Hull
5 min readFeb 18, 2023

--

Karen Blixen museum in Nairobi.
Karen Blixen museum in Nairobi, Kenya/Image credit: creativecommons.org

When you first begin seeing someone, there are all the mandatory questions you go through in an effort to know this new person. Questions about the things you like, the places you enjoy, all of your favorite things.

It’s the “getting to know you” stage.

What we’re searching for is commonalities and interesting differences. We want to know who this new person really is. Likes and dislikes, how you spend your time — it all paints a picture.

So on one of the first occasions that I spoke to a new man in my life by phone, he asked me what was my favorite movie? Although I knew immediately, I stuttered around, because it was an older movie that most people had never even seen, let alone considered one they could watch over and over.

When everything’s new, you don’t want to mess it up with a wrong answer. I didn’t want him to think I was odd or boring. The other problem was that I’m not much of a movie buff. If I see a movie, it’s only because it has some meaning to me.

And even then, it’s usually on television at home. I don’t enjoy trying to get into a story while I’m surrounded by John and Jane Q. Public, talking through the whole thing, simultaneously chomping…

--

--

Conni Walkup Hull

Lawyer/writer. I write essays, memoir, poetry, and tales about my never-dull-life with a handsome Sailor. Experienced editor. Fun to hang out with.