How I built Bay Area job search with Laravel and Greenhouse API

Connor Leech
Employbl
Published in
7 min readMay 20, 2019

--

Greenhouse is a common Applicant Tracking System (ATS) that many Bay Area startups use to track job applications and store their job listing information. This post shows in PHP how I pull in job listings.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been building up Employbl and accomplished a few non-trivial things. They weren’t trivial for me at least! In this post I’ll go through some of the recent code I’ve pushed up for the Employbl project and remark a bit about the use case.

I hope that other Laravel developers find this post helpful. If nothing else it will be a way for me to reflect on what I’ve learned as a growing software engineer!

Use Laravel to pull in Job Listings via the Greenhouse API

Greenhouse is a common Applicant Tracking System (ATS) that many Bay Area startups use to track job applications and store their job listing information. They offer a publically available Job Board API to fetch job listings for a given company.

I wanted to match the companies that I have in my open source dataset with job listings, if the startup or tech company uses Greenhouse ATS.

The only information you need to get a company’s job listings via Greenhouse public api is the “Job Board URL…

--

--

Connor Leech
Employbl

Girl Dad x 2. Cofounder @Employbl. Software Engineer @CommentSold.