How to Install MySQL on Mac OSX

Connor Leech
Employbl
Published in
4 min readJan 2, 2016

--

This should be really straightforward, but I found myself googling around. I wrote a recent post about how to create a web app with the Laravel PHP framework but connecting to the database was tricky.

First step, find out what version of OS X you are running. Click the apple icon in the top right corner of your screen and click “About This Mac”. I got something like this:

My OSX version is 10.11

Next step, head over to the MySQL downloads page.

A whole lot of options to choose from, discouraging for first time users

So with my computer I am running 10.11 and we want the .dmg file. Download Mac OS X 10.10 (x86, 64-bit), DMG Archive. Then you get to this lame screen:

MySQL is free and open source software (FOSS), you do not need to sign up or create an account. Click “No thanks, just start my download”. I let the download go directly to my “Downloads” folder when prompted, though you could place it anywhere. The download will take some time because it is 350mb, go get a coffee. Once the download is complete. Double click the file and a screen like this will open

--

--

Connor Leech
Employbl

Girl Dad x 2. Cofounder @Employbl. Software Engineer @CommentSold.