Tina Fey Does Not Have An American Express Blue Cash Everyday® Card

Connor Toole
2 min readJan 19, 2017

Over the past year, American Express has run a series of commercials featuring Tina Fey using her American Express Blue Cash Everyday® credit card to do normal things everyday people do, like buying groceries in one of Thomas Middleditch’s darker timelines and bartering with a stranger across an airplane aisle over a goat cheese garden salad.

At first, it would appear the most obvious flaw in the spot above is that Tina Fey is seemingly flying in coach class, and while I’m willing to suspend my disbelief for certain minor details such as that, there’s one aspect of the advertisement I just can’t overlook: the fact that I’m supposed to believe Tina Fey uses an American Express Blue Cash Everyday® card.

As someone who frequently uses the same card in order to avoid dealing with the negative consequences of ill-advised decisions up to a month after making them, I would like to make it clear that I have nothing against the American Express Blue Cash Everyday® card. But the fact that I’m using the card in the first place demonstrates why Tina Fey is not.

It’s difficult to believe that a writer and producer with a New York Times Best Selling novel, multiple Golden Globes, countless credits and a $45 million net worth wouldn’t at least splurge for an Amex Gold. I would peg her as more of a Platinum woman myself, but I wouldn’t be surprised if I heard she has a Black Card clanging around inside her wallet. If I had one of those, I’d purposefully shop at places that don’t accept American Express so I could take it out to pay and then loudly clunk it down on the counter before saying “Oh. I’m sorry. I didn’t know you didn’t take American Express,” a bit too loudly and pay with a Chase Sapphire Reserve instead.

I don’t care when Alec Baldwin or Samuel L. Jackson try to convince me to become the eighth person in the world to own a Capital One card, because Capital One understands a simple, general rule: anyone famous enough to helm an ad campaign for a credit card company would not be using that company’s entry level credit card.

That is why Tina Fey would not, and does not, use an American Express Blue Cash Everyday® card.

If the American Express Blue Cash Everyday® card would like to sponsor this piece, please contact the author of further discussion.

--

--

Connor Toole

One of the four white guys with a beard in Brooklyn writing things. Co-creator of Millennials of New York.