Victor James W.
4 min readDec 1, 2023

If a Gen-Z girl can do it, why shouldn't a millenial gentleman be able to?

A certain good friend and sweet sister of mine, Precious Babatunde wrote a series of personal blogs about her journey through her early twenties, and after reading one of her last entries, I told myself that I would do something similar.

This month of December is going to be a perfect month for me in all aspects, and I want to put out my written content more than before. Apologies to those who have been asking what went wrong with me. I have been writing for clients and communities that I have forgotten to write just for the sake of it.

So, here I am.
This month, I will write posts on the series, 'Why I...' and I intend to answer many of the questions people have asked me over the years in a bid to explain why I act the way I do, how I was able to become this way, and why I am like this.

So there goes the first post in this series.
WHY I AM LIKE THIS...

On this particular day, many asked and thought why are you like this?

Often, after I have said something so extraordinarily outrageous and funny, people are wont to ask me,
'Why are you like this?'
If I get a dollar for every single time people have asked me this question, I will have an apartment close to Dangote's mansion in Abuja by now, and I might even own a yacht bigger than Otedola's.

'Victor, why are you like this?'
This question is usually rhetorical and asked in the middle of boisterous laughter, but today, I chose to take the question seriously.

So, why am I like this?
Honestly, I don’t know. But between the study of Biology, Psychology and Genetics, I am sure you’ll find an answer somewhere in between.

In the first place, my father is one of the funniest people you'd ever meet. He was a teacher and still is, to be factual. Now, whenever he is teaching, the students most times don't write anything for several minutes as he takes them on a stroll through stories that are filled with figurative exaggerations and hilarious illustrations that sends the classroom into fits of laughter.

If my dad teaches your class, you might be forgiven to think that you are attending a comedy show. I guess that rubbed off on me in a big way, and although I will never be able to act in the funny way that my father did before his students, my thought process and words may be just as wild.

Here is my dad cracking me and my friend up. Lol

Again, my father was always one of the wisest people around. As far back as I could remember, he was always speaking to couples to advise them, talking to elders to guide them, and our sitting room is usually filled on Sunday evenings with people who come to seek his advice.

So, I guess I got some sense from him too.

Another answer as to why I am like this is because I grew up in a compound compound family. I repeated the 'compound' for you to know how compound our compound family was. At a time, while I was the unfortunate candidate who washed plates, I could count up to fourteen to sixteen plates, representing almost two dozens of human beings living in our house.

I shared a room with four of my uncles when I was just ten or so. And you can imagine the kind of conversations that I became privy to, most of them funny, wild and altogether interesting.

Most of my music taste came from them, and many of my own thought process was formed by their stories and mentality: whether it was Uncle Paul mimicking some innocent neighbour to send us into laughter, or Joseph laughing until his belly hurts, or Uncle Stephen and his many stories from his days in the village, or Bayskay with his street wisdom and stories from my family’s past, or Uncle Isaac and his unique taste in music and perspective, I swallowed many of their ways and forged mine from them.

So I guess I became this way because I grew up with different types of characters and absorbed some of their personalities.

Let me stop here for now. I'll continue talking about my other childhood influences, including my loving mother, tomorrow.

Today’s Cookie: INFLUENCE MATTERS A LOT. ENVIRONMENT CAN DECIDE DESTINY.

See you tomorrow on the second entry of my 'Why I' series.

Victor James W.

I write to provoke the mind, uplift the mood, enlighten the spirit & awaken the soul through my stories, fictions, articles & everything in-between.