Checklist When Moving to Another Country

Jalila Clarke
5 min readMay 15, 2022

A checklist when moving to another country is so important. What are the common problems of moving to another country? What do I need to do before moving to another country? Read this article to know what you need, before you go so that life is a little bit easier before you arrive in a new place.

I have dreamt of moving to another country for many years, maybe that’s because I’ve watched too many foreign films. ‘Dreaming’ because it did not happen until very late in my life. Although I was born in Panama (Central America), I have lived the majority of my life in America, since the age of 3. America and I got no bad blood, I just wanted to explore the world a little more. I wanted to bring my childhood desire of studying abroad into a reality.

I had just turned 41 years old when I moved to China September of 2019, to become an English teacher with the Disney English training center. I regretted not studying abroad and experiencing an enriching but sometimes frustrating life in another country, in…

--

--

Jalila Clarke

Former expat who loves answering questions about living/working abroad.