Want Your Airbnb to Stand Out? Channel Your Inner James Bond.

Leisel McKenzie
6 min readAug 5, 2023

Espionage, people. It’s not all cloak and daggers. Sometimes it’s about making you a profit. Well, OK … not espionage exactly. But spying. A whole lot of spying …

Photo by Irv P on Unsplash. Street art of Sean Connery as James Bond holding a gun.

Spying. It feels rude. Unethical. Even immoral. But here’s the thing. In business, you have to keep an eye on the competition. Otherwise you are running your rental wearing a blindfold.

I am not advocating for you to be nasty or undermine someone else’s business. Just good ‘ole fashioned spying with the goal to keep your place, prices, and services relevant.

It’s just good business.

In Person

it’s a vacation — never give your guests chores

I remember when a guest told me they were staying at my place because it was the highest rated in the area. I also remember being shocked when they then told me ‘we are about to buy something and wanted to see how you did it’. They said it like it was normal. To me it wasn’t. I was shocked, and managed to say ‘thank you.’

But I’m glad it happened. It made me realize it’s nothing personal. And I’m a big believer there’s enough money in the world for everyone.

What it left me with was a shifted mindset.

--

--

Leisel McKenzie

Entrepreneur, coach, & writer. I write about short term rentals - how to grow your Airbnb with simple tips and advice from a Superhost.